[Humanitarian travel] Manali - discovering the beauty of India

in #manali8 years ago

So… 

 

After sixteen hours of traveling by bus (from Delhi to Manali), we arrived at Manali. Believe me it was a very bad trip… I can’t tell you everything, but I think that you can imagine! 

Bus :(


We could see a very nice view, though, as you can see below! 



As I told you, I came to Manali for an internship in Medicine, so after a few holidays we arrived on Saturday morning. Here we are staying in the campus of the Hospital: the name of the place is Lady Willingdon Hospital. We met a very nice guy from the UK who helped in our staying (thanks Kishan)! On Sunday we went to a meeting at the church in the campus, where we met a lot of people from the campus and in afternoon we went for a walk. Manali is like a dream, believe me: after Varanasi and Delhi I was fascinated about this city and the people from here seem much nicer and happier than in Delhi or Varanasi. There are a lot of restaurants around here. 


Campus


Discovering beautiful places





On Monday we started the internship: it is very funny because every morning we meet up with all doctors and nurses and we sing some catholic songs and pray in the end. After this, all doctors go to do rounds and talk about patients - of course sometimes in Hindi sometimes in English, so many times I don’t understand what they are saying, but for sure I will learn. 


In the middle of the week more two students came from Bangalore for the internship, Neelima and Amrith. Tt was very nice and we started going out a little bit more. They are staying for 4 weeks.  



So about Manali: this place is very beautiful! There is Old Manali and the Mall Road… And Old Manali is ever so beautiful… It is in the mountains of the Himalayas, so imagine. It is so nice to chill, to walk, to have dinner, lunch… I don’t know! I wish the hospital was there. It is more or less 20 minutes by walk from where we are… I have very beautiful pictures… 

Mall Road





Old Manali...




Temples



Even so, it is India, so you see a lot of cows and dogs walking on the street, the noise from the cars is the same, but the traffic isn’t so confusing as in Delhi but it is still very annoying to me… 


About medical stuff, here we can watch a lot of surgeries. I assisted already in a caesarian and in a hysterectomy (it was almost 4 hours in a surgery). The doctors here know a lot, a surgeon can do almost everything, internal medicine and surgeries. Here you cannot know only your specialization, you must know everything. Because there are few doctors to do all the work. I think that it is very nice and we can learn a lot with them… 

Let live and enjoy everything that is coming to our lives with a smile...

See you... 

Sort:  

And they practice eastern medicine.

Yes yes, it is only eastern medicine. I would like to learn about ayurvedic medicine but in the hospital is completely impossible...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43