I went looking for wolly mammoth tusks in wild Alaska

in #mammoth6 years ago (edited)

I have done many things in my life and wanted to do something I thought was hard, but possible .
I found it .looking for mammoths
Living in Australia and travelling to Siberia search for Wolly mammoths was the dream. after I year research I found it would be to hard and dangerous especially only speaking English. so I decided. on Northern tip of Alaska in the arctic circle in mid summer to travel down the river and along the BERING STRAIGHT OCEAN and KOTZEBUE. the trip in 2017 was fun and dangerous but I did find my dolly mammoth .
will post more about my stories later.
IMG_0825.jpgP6300074.JPGP6300053.JPGP7200341.jpeg

Sort:  

You just happened to find Mammoth remains along the river?
I want to know more!

yep believe it or not . they are lots of bones but not much ivory . I found lots but they are big and heavy .I brought back some ivory to make some chef knife handle hopefully.any one can do it it just take a bit of organisation .happy hunting

fascinating

Interesting article! Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68545.57
ETH 3900.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71