[vlog] MBS Day 1: Malta, the Island for Blockchain Services

in #maltablockchainsummit5 years ago (edited)

Today was Day 1 of the Malta Blockchain Summit. There are definitely a lot of people at this conference. If there is a bear market in Crypto, someone forget to tell the attendees! Literally thousands showed up to attend.

I did a little video back at my hotel room recapping my thoughts of the day.

Main takeaway

Prime Minister Joseph Muscat has definitely not been shy in touting Malta as the ‘Blockchain Island’ however I would refine that claim a bit.

Perhaps I’m crypto ‘old skool’ however when I think of a ‘Blockchain Island’, I think of a utopian place of decentralisation, where people own their own money. I think of peer-to-peer transactions. Of people buying their coffee with Bitcoin and less conspicuous stuff with Monero. That kind of thing.

I think I can confidently say Malta is not going to be that kind of Blockchain Island!

Rather Malta will be more of a Blockchain Services Island. If you need services in relation to blockchain, be it legal services, marketing, business development or a crypto friendly regulatory framework then Malta is positioning itself to be the place to come.

Overall I think it’s a win-win for crypto and Malta, however as John McAfee pointed out in a brief cameo on the Main Stage, the trustless, permissionless train that is cryptocurrency and blockchain will carry on unabated, regardless of more gentrified strains of the technology.

Hors d'oeuvres

ICO hunting

My search for a diamond in the rough of ICOs, STOs, UTOs… UFOs… continues. I didn’t find anything to tempt me today however I did get into a couple of interesting conversations around consensus algorithms.

The first was with a guy from a new “decentralised anonymous smart contract platform” called Quras that will apparently use the Proof of Importance protocol used by NEM as it’s consensus algorithm… it will also leverage Monero/ CryptoNote technology for anonymous transactions… oh wait and and Cash tech for anonymous storage…. Oh did I mention… DAG win the future. Needless to see I wait for when the product is brought to market before looking at that one.

The second was Felta, that introduces an algorithm I’d never heard of before called Proof-of-Formulation. It sounds a bit like DPOS however rather than having Stake weighted voting elect Witnesses/ Block Producers, Nodes would need to lock up a certain amount of collateral a la Masternodes to qualify. An interesting concept however I’ll wait to see how this performs in the ‘wild’ before seeing whether it merits further investigation.

Steemian search

I did manage to bump into a couple of "Steemians" at the Conference.

The first was @chris4210, founder of Payger. I seem to run into Chris at every Conference I go to! He is definitely on his grind!

I also met @daveonarrival who was rocking a DTube t-shirt and everything. He had that shocked look you get when a big black dude you don't know from adam pulls up to you in the men's toilet and asks 'Do I know you from somewhere!' Lmao.


20181101_185007.jpg

Definitely representing to the fullest!

PM's am appointment


20181101_100400.jpg

Malta Prime Minister Joseph Muscat kicked things off early, this guy is definitely crypto bullish!

Spitting knowledge


20181101_155918.jpg

John Mcafee, flanked by heavies, whiskey in hand... telling it how it is!

After party anyone?


20181101_193850.jpg

Nah, 'drinks' at the Tapas bar overspilled into the street. The place was heaving! Time for me to retire to my room... pipe and slippers style!

Sort:  

Haha, I was just excited to meet a fellow Steemian. I met @chris4210 too because he saw my shirt as well. Pleasure meeting you. I hope I run into you tomorrow.

It was great seeing you too Dave :)

It was great meeting you too Nanzo. Malta was a blast :D I cannot wait for MBS II in 2019!

It is incredible what the cryptos do, unite many people with a single goal,
I'm glad you found people here! steemit is everywhere
Many friendships are made in these events and you know many people who like the same thing as you!

In many ways of looking at it we are too intelligent. So when humans can get passed the daily grind need then you will be able to explore all kinds of doors.

But that also depends on what we use our intelligence and how much we do it.
The human tends to build and destroy in the same way.

It would be great to meet Steemit's friends here in person! 😊😍

Yeah if humans only use the Intellect then they may miss out on Love 😀❤️

Love the way some of the smaller Nations like Malta and Cyprus are blazing the trail for crypto in Europe.

I saw a few photos on twitter of this conference - Malta is looking good!

So, where are we heading with
Steem & Cryptos?
What did the "big minds" say?

That's the million dollar question, don't think anyone knows!

That's an honest answer :)
Respect.
Hope they will do better soon...

Looking good man, hope we can have a chat about all of this in a few days!

Looking forward to seeing you my man!

Watched the videos from that blockchain summit really the full crowd shows how crucial blockchain is and MALTA is a perfect hub for all the blockchain and crypto lovers :)

Oooo. This is the first I'd heard of this in Malta @nanzo-scoop.

If you get the chance, when the conference is over, head over to Gozo. It's one of my very favourite places.

Thanks for your continued support with your upvotes. They are still very much appreciated.

Will you be in Krakow?

Have fun at the conference. #128513;

Yep - On my way to Krakow now!

Brilliant - I wish I could have been there .....it looks like a great blockchain conference - I bet @starkerz and @anarcotech they could have been there too - but they are in Jakarta at the SE Asia Blockchain Conference. Hope you have a good few days....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75