How to find a Job in Malta?

in #malta6 years ago (edited)

What's one of the first things you need when you move to a new place? A place to stay and a job! So how can you find a job in Malta?

DSC03873_preview.jpeg

Don't worry! It is easy!
I have written a lot about Malta now and shared some insights on my facebook page but there are still so many topics to cover.
I thought I start off with this one since it is the most appealing and one of the biggest willing points of the island. Jobs! There are a lot of jobs in Malta and there is a niche for almost everyone. So when you first come to the island you might struggle but not because you cannot find a job, but because there are so many opportunities.
I am in my second job now, doing what really like: doing content and social media and other marketing projects. I found this job in about a month. I switched after working 3,5 months in customer support, which is a great starting point and a way to get a job quite fast. (I got my support job within a week) So Malta is great for new opportunities and career steps, there are a lot of possibilities in the different industries.

One of the biggest markets is the IGaming Industry but there is a lot more in other industries, like finance or tourism. Even science related Malta is starting to boom or there are marketing and tech jobs.
Don't be scared about the gaming industry it is very well regulated and most of the companies pay well and are good employers. The full post about Malta and the gaming industry will be online soon. So but how do you find one of those marvelous jobs?
There are several options to find out about new jobs and opportunities:

  1. Online Job Sites

Before I came here I started looking for opportunities briefly to figure out what to do for a living on this little rock. And other than in the housing market, there can be found a lot of jobs online as well. There are a lot of platforms for expats and international job seekers but also for locals.
I personally had good experiences with:
Glassdoor
Europe language jobs
LinkedIn postings
Jobsinmalta.com
But of course, there are other sites that list jobs in Malta as well.

  1. Go to a recruiter

There are countless recruitment agencies in Malta that even focus on different industries and they are highly frequented. I did not find my current job through a recruiter but I know people that got great help from those agencies.
I recommend to give it a try because you will also receive general help fixing your CV and interview training, so it is worth a shot.
These recruiters are recommendable:
Betting Connections & Spot on
Konnekt
I Gaming Elite
The first and the second focus on the gaming industry but they also have other job opportunities in their database.

  1. Facebook

Yeah, again Facebook takes one important role, if not the most important. As mentioned before a lot of things are running on facebook exclusively here in Malta. For the job search, it is the most effective tool in my opinion! Yes, I found my current job in a facebook group and applied.
There are many groups that always have current and new jobs posted. In the facebook groups, everything comes together: the recruiters and the companies post new opportunities here and they are updated with more frequency than other portals.
Here you can learn more about Malta and Facebook and find some of the groups! All in all, it can take a little to find your dream job on the island, but shorter than in most places. For a European, it is very easy to work here and for Non-Europeans, it is as well but a little more tricky since you require a separate permit and the companies have to assure that the job cannot be done by an EU citizen. But it is not impossible, there are a lot of jobs that are tailor-made for you guys, so give it a try!

DSC03820_preview.jpeg

Soon also I will give you some hints for the apartment search as that can be a lot more tricky.
Stay posted!

Sort:  

Useful info! I have never been to Malta but have met many people who swear it's a paradise. Where are you from originally?

Hi Victoria, Thanks for commenting! Malta is a great place to live! I can really recommend it. It is a beautiful place with a huge expat community and quality of life is really high. I was born in Germany but living abroad for a while now.
Also, feel free to check my website for more info and pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43