Malt Whisky Fad or Fashion

in #malt7 years ago (edited)

Malt whisky is my passion and has been for the past 10 years. I drink it, collect it, buy it, sell it. Malt whisky is an enduring commodity and if all else fails and the market in everything collapses, then I will have 200 bottles with which to celebrate in royal fashion the end of life as we know it.

If you were to go back 30 years, drinking of single malt whisky was the preserve of the anoraks, those with long beards and campervans. All the rest of the world drank blended whisky such as Bells, Famous Grouse, Teachers and the like. What is the difference I hear you ask? Well blended whisky is put together from malt whiskies from two or more distilleries, which is blended with a grain whisky, made from something other than malted barley (wheat or rye usually), whilst a single malt whisky is from a single distillery.

Cut forward to the present day and many younger people are being drawn away from the traditions of drinking insipid lagers towards real ales, micro-breweries and single malts. The revolution has just begun! A single malt can be very different dependent on a range of factors which I will discuss in subsequent blogs, but it is now a world phenomenon, with distillers as far apart as Sweden, Taiwan, India, Australia, South Africa and even some being produced in the USA alongside the much more popular (over there) bourbons.

I will spend some time discussing in subsequent weeks how whisky is distilled, what Scotch Whisky must be under the 2009 Scotch Whisky Regulations, then I will explore some of influences on whisky, the terroir (ground on which the barley is grown), the wood in which it is matured, the location and the spirit. I will discuss my favourite whiskies and what makes them my favourites and I will look at which whiskies are the most popular, why some old bottles of Macallan can sell for $100,000 plus and a recent collection of old Dalmores sold for well over $1m.

I will also talk about collecting whisky and the ongoing rows between collectors and drinkers, which has inevitably led to a rise in prices of the more popular brands. More to follow soon.! attached with this blog is a map of the Scottish distilleries - there are a lot to choose from. I will be talking about a few! [Scotch Distillery Map.jpg]
()

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Thanks Jonathan, good to be part of the community

Welcome to #Steemit Graham. There is nothing better than a great whisky. Looking forward to reading your Blog in the future and reading your recommendations on your favourites. Stephen

Thanks Stephen, I hope to make this a regular feature, posting on the world of malt whisky and what I have learned over the last ten years which will hopefully enlighten some and provide for interesting debate for others.

have been working in hotels for almost 3 years in food and beverage department .scotch whisky is my thing!!

i like my whisky little hard and smoky taste that's the reason why Lagavulin is my favourite! cheers!

I can understand why. The best value whisky available in the UK. A 16 year old Islay Malt for under £50. I can't see it being around for much longer as most 10 year old whiskies are now approaching that price (Ardbeg 10 for example)

malt whisky can never be a fad nor a fashion its a trend which defines class and will remain forever.

I put it up there just for interest. The whole whisky industry collapsed in Scotland in the 1980s resulting in many distilleries being closed. I suspect that in years to come there will be massive over capacity and something similar might happen.

Would love to hear what you think of Glen Breton (Canadian)

Elendil one of the great beauties of malt whisky is there are so many distilleries out there and I regret that Glen Breton is one that I have not tried yet. Are you saying that I should?

I would recommend. It also has an interesting legal battle that might be relevant for your future posts. Look at Battle of the Glen (also good).

Working good

Congratulations @grahamward! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66442.48
ETH 3553.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10