DEI Malaysians, have one Tag enough LAH!

in #malaysia6 years ago (edited)

I came across this today.

malay.jpg

If the tag is meant to group-up post written in native languages, then it should read as #bm, #bahasa or #bm-malaysia like how #Cn-Malaysia is intended for. I may be wrong, but I remember it was for posts that are written in Chinese. Now, there are English posts under the cn-malaysia tag too. But a great Malaysian steemian I know @superoo7 created another one of his many great bots that now identifies and addresses the English written #cn-malaysia posts.

If this is the case, the #malay isn't necessary. Perhaps lets try as suggested above, mmmkay?

Just stick to #teammalaysia for any Malaysian related posts sudah lah, can ar? Leave the racial thing aside as you step into Steemit. This platform is a new hope for all of us to unite. I don't want to see some #malay #chinese, #cn lah, god knows even #macha-malaysia one day as tags, haha. Language tags ok, race, No-No. Plus there already is #Bahasa-Malaysia

For what la?? Tell me! Our country already so small lah.

I am truly sorry I see these sub race categories are not at all necessary. #teammalaysia cukup.
Who agrees? angkat tangan! I mean, upvote! Dont agree also upvote lah ok? Tolong ar bro...sis..kasi duit kopi sikit. Haha. Cheer Up!

What are your thoughts? Do share.
I'm concerned.
@Killuminatic

Sort:  

I soooo wanna join the macha-malaysia man . I totally agree that tags should be based on interest. But this is all going to change when steem launches communities . You may actually see macha-malaysia .. hahah

1.Clearly, there is a need to re-read his post. As that tag is focus toward tag in reference of language.

  1. He look it in the context of people in the region that share the same history and usage of the language. Hence encourage more of Malay Language writer to come aboard and be part of steemit . His focus is not solely in the context of Malay language writers in Malaysia.

  2. It is not in reference to a particular race. The writer is not even a Malay race.

  3. It wasn't meant to be in reference to race or sub- race.

  4. I honestly think it's a good initiatives.

  5. I disagree with this post, so I don't angkat tangan lol. More so when it seems you saw the tag but it seems are confuse with the content.

  6. We are free to create whatever tag, and community decide if the tag is relevant OR not, use it, don't use it, it really depends on a person. No harm done, move on.

  7. Clearly a Sabahan understanding on the word Malay is much learned than others as we see it as more than just race.

  8. Too bad, that someone who was enthusiastic and fire up about promoting the Malay language as his interest has his fire put down.

  9. What happen if someone has interest to promote kadazan language, we disagree also?

  10. If you ask if Your post is taken out of context., I will raise my hand. Who agree may raise your hand too. Lol.

  11. @chanelcalestus, nothing wrong with your initiatives, most likely something is wrong with the people mindset, or their understanding your post. Hence I suggest other to read it back. It's your call to continue it or not, but since you decide to pull it off , then I respect that too. If you were a whale and start a Malay language tag. I bet everyone will praise you for promoting the language. Keep up the spirit.

Cheers.

You are right. I admit I am wrong at this and yes, it was my mindset I had at the time when I came across the post. I understand better now about the tagging after posting this not-carefully-researched rant here. We make mistakes, and this is one of mine along the steemit learning journey.
@chanelcalestus I am no one to comment about your initiative like that and for that I am sorry. Here's to #malay =)

Minta-maaf semua!

100% agree with you @danieldoughty .

@chanelcalestus, whatever decision you make, I'm behind you...

True indeed @danieldoughty.Actually di luar sana ramai yang nk masuk steemit seperti yang diperkatakan oleh
@chanelcalestus.tetapi bila mereka tengok semua bahasa inggeris ,jadi mereka pun rasa down sebab bukan semua orang blh tulis dan baca bahasa inggeris tetapi kalau ada yang nekad untuk belajar,tahniah la.
Just A TAG lol...
✌🏻😉

I dont know but i got a notification of this post on my telegram. I am all for unity if its teammalaysia. When we first started steem-cartoon it was purpose based rather than geographic based. So we managed to get artists from iran, america and other countries to join us. So i guess tagging is an identification. So if the underlying genetic makeup is malaysia...yeah u have a point.

You get it.

Totally with u on this...

Hahaha... personally... i have no problem with the diversities of tags, genres, themes, race, culture etc... the world has many colours... it is interesting to see how everyone's get their freedom to initiate their own community/exploring their creativity/possibilities and nature decides it course... because at the end of the day people will choose the direction that suits them most... either in the sense of belonging, engagement, benefits, friendship, knowledge, networking, upvotes, trending etc...

Hahaha... just looking at it from another perspective... it's okay to disagree...sometimes I enjoy a friendly and positive discussion to get a better understanding on certain issues... ✌😊

What you said its very true as well. I think it's just my paranoia of what could be one day here in Steemit. I just like to see us under one roof. but of course again, here, everyone has a choice to do whatever they want, like initiating one's own community etc.

I am no way involved with cn or malay tags.. but I believe cn-malaysia or bm, bm-malaysia, etc tags have absolutely nothing to do with race but everything to do with language...
It is good to have teammalaysia tag, but it is also important to have tags based on language, not everyone is comfortable in a particular language. I for one spent 14 years in Chinese school but have difficult writing or reading Chinese.. if Steemit is a platform that is purely in Chinese, I definitely won't be interested, fortunately, Steemit supports many different languages which is how it should be and meant to be.
Besides, there is a very good reason for Steemit to allow us to use 5 different tags.

That what I meant. For language purposes, it's fine. My concern is when/if the tags leans towards dividing us here in this already small populated country.

I am not worried about racial segregation.. it happens and will happen in all walks of society... but please have a look at all the event photos I have taken, every event I attended are filled with people from all walks of life and different race/religion/skin color/nationality.
Yes, there are events where there are more Chinese while I notice that Steem-Cartoon is more on the Malay side. But every single subgroups of teammalaysia not only open to everyone but is extremely well represented... Again, please have a look at all my event photos and you'll be proud that of teammalaysia.

Tags differentiate ur intended audience...so there is a little way of directing the traffic which is built within the system

I would be very interested in looking into macha-malaysia and how they interact haha....

As for me, #bm-malaysia would be easy to group Malaysian writers who writes in Malay and those who are more comfortable reading in our national language can actually filter it.

As #teammalaysia itself is already a community @killuminatic , it is the huge umbrella that show us as a nation together, while the respective languages would have show its diverse language availability as well.

It's not a separate entity, but as a collaborating community.

Wouldn't that be awesome?
ps: I also give you duit kopi la... (upvote) but not much unfortunately.

I am quarter Indian myself. the rest are chinese, malay and thai. Real life teamamalaysia tag here ok lol. So I know how my "makkals" and I will be steeming then! Since everyone now sort of agrees it's cool to have all the tags. Let's go! We can't avoid the diversity of this beautiful country, right.
I saja buat kecoh. Thanks for the duit kopi! That is more than enough, haha.

Hello @killuminatic, I read through @chanelcalestus long post and its all about the BM language. I didn't read anything that might consider #malay as a race tag. At first glance, I agree that it looks like promoting a race but we all have our own rights to create our own tags. By the way, I know @chanelcalestus personally, and he is not even Malay.

Yes, he did not mention it as a race tag nor did I. That is why i was just suggesting the type of tags that could be used or else it might easily misunderstood and may lead to something else. Sorry if my article is tad misleading.

True indeed....I agree with you @beverlyjoe

Saya rasa bile tag kalian cume 1 akan lebih berfaedah karena akan naik di tranding.
Hehehe
Salam dari Aceh

Haha Kalian terbaik! Trending, salute! Ok sudah, jangan masuk campur hal ehwal dalaman kami, mmmkay.. Hahahaha. JK.

Thanks for mentioning. I think @davidke20 have said about cn-malaysia, hope you understand about our initiative and goal.

No problem :) Perhaps one day, your services can be extended to the other native language tags as well, bro haha.

Boss, thank you for mentioning #cn-malaysia . The tag was created to use for collaboration with Chinese developer from China. Their side will use our tag to curate our work. Like wise we're using their tags to join their community work / project / contest and also historical researches purposes.

Thanks @davidke20 on the clarification and the elaboration for the usage of the tag. :) It is fine with me as long as it is a Chinese language malaysian post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30