Batu Caves and Petronas Tower in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

in #malaysia6 years ago

(The Hindu God of War and Victory, Lord Murugan at Batu Caves)

After the Philippines, I flew from Manila to Kuala Lumpur, first time in Malaysia.

I always knew that Malaysia is a predominantly Islamic country, but that since it's in the crossroads of Southeast Asia, that there was also a size able Indian population in the country, so therefore, Hindu religion would also be prominent there as well. 

One of the most famous Hindu sites is the Batu Caves, located just north of Kuala Lumpur city center.

Upon first seeing the Batu Caves, it reminded me quickly of the similar cave I saw at Underground River in Puerto Princesa in Philippines. The Batu Caves is within limestone rock feature, so in many ways it is the same, including the wildlife with monkeys and bats flying around in the entrance area. 

The statue of Lord Murugan, was relatively new (if I remember was built sometime in the 2000's), and is the tallest statue of its kind for that deity.

The visitation of Batu Caves is actually "FREE", so there is no fee even if someone tells you that you have to pay something, don't believe them. There are some side features that do require a small fee, but they aren't actually part of the Batu Caves themselves.

The only negative I have with Batu Caves is that they have vendors selling goods within the caves, which I thought wasn't really "natural" and really put off the beautiful Batu Caves themselves.

Below is series of photos of my experience climbing the stairs, seeing monkeys, and going into the caves:






Visiting the Petronas Tower in downtown Kuala Lumpur

As someone that enjoys skyscrapers, I did want to see the Petronas Tower, the remaining twin towers, since the famous ones in New York City were destroyed back in 2001.

The towers take on very Islamic style in architecture, so very beautiful and the entire buildings are made in stainless steel, which is very special in its way.

I didn't bother paying the high entrance fee to go to the top of the tower ... well because I've already went to the top of the tallest building at the time, Taipei 101 back in 2007 when it had overtaken the Petronas Tower as the tallest buildings in the world.

Now that I've also gone to top of Burj Khalifa, the tallest building in the world in Dubai, there was no reason to spend that money going to the top of Petronas Tower.

So I just enjoyed it from a distance and from the bottom of the towers.






Have you visited the Batu Caves or Petronas Tower?

Do you suggest anywhere else to check out for Kuala Lumpur?



Sort:  

You really had a great time in malaysia the historic batu caves looks awesome with the statue of Murugan which is very huge, I never knew there were a huge Indian population in Malaysia . There are other of beautiful site visit in Malaysia especially the Petronas Tower. I hope you enjoy your stay

Yes, to me the top two places to visit in Kuala Lumpur for those who have short time is Batu Caves and Petronas Tower

It was a great ride. I am especially curious about caves. It was a wonderful and informative sharing. Thank you @hustletoparadise and You have not been here long

Welcome back bro.. @hustletoparadise.. Great travel...
thanks for sharing your some exclusive snap shot..

Yes it's been awhile since I posted ... I got a bit busy traveling and didn't have much time or because internet in some places was TOO slow LOL.

wow its amazing capture

Screenshot_37.png

Вам повезло с таким удивительным путешествием!

Kuala Lumpur is a beautiful city. Especially it's buildings are so beautiful and big also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68