Off To Malawi

in #malawi6 years ago (edited)

So after months of waiting this Friday, I head out to Malawi for 5 weeks. I'm off leading a team of teachers and undergraduates from the UK, to work with teachers and students at a few schools in the North of the country. We're staying with a charity on the shore of Lake Malawi.

Here are a couple of photos I took last year, when I led a similar project, with the charity:

IMG_20170621_065919.jpg
Lake Malawi Sunrise

IMG_20170621_104842.jpg
Eating sugar cane

We'll be helping them develop their Computer Science curricula and capabilities. We'll be working in various different areas including basic digital literacy skills, how computers work, and programming, but we'll also be looking to help them develop their Computational Thinking through the use of various unplugged activities. Computational Thinking is basically a form of problem-solving where you approach the problem in the same way as a computer scientist would if they were going to look to use a computer to solve the problem.

My home for the next 5 weeks is electricity-free and is about a third of this hut:

IMG_20170613_111834.jpg
Sleeping hut

At least last year I got to see the Unix bike:

IMG_20170618_161258.jpg
The Unix Bike

I have no idea why this bike is named for an Operating System, but as a Computer Scientist I felt the need to record its' existence.

Sort:  

I'll attempt to document the visit here, but unfortunately, connectivity was extremely limited, at times, last year and it might not be feasible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54