Tropical travel doctor

in #malaria7 years ago

I'm a South African doctor, qualified almost 30 years ago.....started traveling and working early on in my career to pay back my hefty student loan and thirty odd years later I find myself a true nomad...residing in a large samsung suitcase....it sounds romantic and it certainly is at times, but there are pros and cons to everything...even to living in the tropics. I have worked for large fancy companies in some great locations :-)), also worked some fairly unpleasant regions :-( .....the hardest has always been being away from loved ones and not having a sense of belonging as one just settles in and makes few mates and then the company sells out, the contract ends or you find something better.

When I think of what I can give my patients most nowadays I think of mostly ...I can give them an open mind and be someone who is prepared to really listen...so many people are not really sick, they just need to talk and be heard and vent ....and they feel sick and frustrated because nobody has time to listen to them ...My special interests are malaria and tropical diseases, travel medicine and general wellness. johnonboatjp.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @johnwijnberg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83