You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today's Status: Ubuntu Crashes, Frustration, Acceptance, and Success!

in #making7 years ago

Nice PC build! I cheaped out on my build, spent $400 for all the parts new. Quad core AMD processor, 8gb ddr3 ram, 1tb HDD, and a GTX 750. My second build was done even cheaper and runs just a well, a used Dell Optiplex and shoved a GTX 1030, for a total of $200.

I imagine your PC wasn't cheap. Do you do heavy programming or gaming on it? Just curious :)

I love using Wine, it seems to run anything Windows related. Best of luck to you and Ubuntu!

Sort:  

My work machine has to do video editing, Adobe suite, and I 3d stuff, otherwise I could get away with just a browser and Slack ;)

Biggest expense though was the graphics card (though I could have saved by being patient and shopping around).

My other machine has to run Windows for Oculus, not because I am a gamer but again for the 3D stuff. Of course I did get drawn into the games now :P

I've got macos running under VirtualBox so I need to write that all up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58999.04
ETH 2518.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46