How To Cover Dark Circles Under Eyes After Jetlag | My version vs. Social Media

in #makeup6 years ago

For today’s Makeup Tutorial, I’m going to show you how I cover up my dark circles and how some people are showing it on various social media platforms!

So, it’s me against the rest of the world. Ha-ha (;

I also made a video on this topic considering that you may want to watch it. Simply click the Play button at the end of this article.

To start with, here is a before and after picture that shows you the side on which I did my version and the side on which I did the other.

How To Cover Dark Circles Under Eyes After Jetlag - before and after - melissavandijkmakeuptutorials.png

I’m going to do my usual covering up routine – which does work! And then we will see which side is the winner! So, on one side I’m using my normal orange under-toned concealer, and on the other side, I’m using a red lipstick because this is what some people are using in their social media videos.

P.S: My video has this covered in details; you may want to check this one out too!

Step 1: Orange Concealer (My Version).

I always like to color-correct with the skin tone-based concealer that has a hint of “Color-Correcting Colors.” To cover up dark circles, you need to neutralise the blueness. And if you have a look at the color wheel, it will show you that blue and orange are opposite colors which means that orange will neutralise blue.

That’s why I’m using an orange-based concealer. I will apply it underneath and at the inner corner of my eye with a thin concealer brush. Apply a tiny layer of it – you don’t need much!

Step 2: Set it.

Now, set this color-correcting concealer with some translucent powder on a fluffy face brush. This will prevent any creasing or movement when you’re applying the foundation and normal concealer on top.

How To Cover Dark Circles Under Eyes After Jetlag - orange concealer - melissavandijkmakeuptutorials.png

- Other Different Eye Product -

Step 1: Red Lipstick.

I can understand why these people are using red lipstick to color-correct any dark circles if you only consider the primary colors which are yellow, red and blue. But it is a different situation if you’re mixing red and blue = purple, red and yellow = orange and blue and yellow = green.

The one thing that I’m worried about is that if I’m applying the red lipstick on the blue areas, it will turn into purple which doesn’t solve the problem…
And, if you choose a cream lipstick, make sure that it isn’t too creamy – it should be a little kind of drier/stiffer so that it won’t melt down your face.

I applied the red lipstick directly from the lipstick itself and then blended it into the skin with a new and clean concealer brush.

Step 2: Set it.

Taking a new/clean fluffy brush and dusting some translucent powder on top to set the lipstick.

How To Cover Dark Circles Under Eyes After Jetlag - red lipstick - melissavandijkmakeuptutorials.png

Step 3: Foundation.

Now, I’m going to apply my foundation as usual with either a damp sponge or a brush. The color-correcting part is set with some powder so that it wouldn’t move.

After the application of my foundation, I could still see some redness through the foundation on the one side, but everything looked good and blended in on the other side with the orange concealer.

I’m not that type of person that wears full-coverage foundations - I am okay with the medium. I like to keep it simple and natural, but it might also depend on the coverage of your foundation even though I have used more foundation on the side with the lipstick because at first, I couldn’t cover it up.

How To Cover Dark Circles Under Eyes After Jetlag - foundation - melissavandijkmakeuptutorials.png

Step 4: Concealer.

Let’s give the whole eye area an even canvas by adding a neutral concealer underneath and on top of your eyes. It's fine if the concealer is slightly lighter than your skin tone!

I applied the concealer from the tube and then blended it in with a damp sponge.

I have to say that the one with the orange concealer sticks to its place and it doesn’t move at all whereas on the other side you can see that the lipstick underneath has moved and it has turned into a pinkish shade.

How To Cover Dark Circles Under Eyes After Jetlag - concealer- melissavandijkmakeuptutorials.png

Step 5: Set it.

To set the concealer, we are now adding some translucent powder on top with a clean fluffy face brush. Just dust it over the concealer so that everything locks in.

How To Cover Dark Circles Under Eyes After Jetlag - set it- melissavandijkmakeuptutorials.png

And? What do we think about the outcome? Which side looks the better?

I still prefer my version, and I tell you why! Since orange is already a mixed color of red and yellow, it won’t change your blueness as strong as the lipstick. Blue and orange are the perfect colors that neutralise each other without creating something different! And I would recommend using a concealer that has an undertone of orange which means that it is still a skin-toned shade with a bit of orange, meaning that it is easier to cover up with your foundation and you won’t need to apply a lot of it!

Red Lipstick has a different formula than concealers, and creamy lipsticks will come off your lips which means that it can move – just as it did under my eyes. And if the color is too bold, you are wasting too much product from your foundation and normal concealer, and that isn’t worth it!

Here is the link to the video:

xoxo, Melissa

Follow me on Twitter
Follow me on Facebook
Subscribe to my YouTube Channel

ALL MAKEUP GEEKS, feel free to RESTEEM this article! Let's keep spreading the word with real life everyday makeup application!

If you're someone who needs recognition for amazing an special content, don't be afraid to join the Promo-Mentor Channel
Promo- Mentor.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77