Ipsy Subscription March 2018

in #makeup6 years ago (edited)

Good Morning and Happy Thursday!! I'm not so sure it's too happy here however, I have some massive laundry piles to finish up from our trip to the lake last week. Blah!! But anyways, let's talk makeup because that makes me happy!!

ipsy cover.png
https://www.ipsy.com/new?cid=ppage_opensubs&sid=link&refer=b3ve

While at the lake, my Ipsy subscription came in the mail and I couldn't wait to rip into it and try all of the products out. So today I will be telling you what I got and how well it worked....let's get this started.

ipsy march products.jpg

Ok, so product #1 is the bag...

IMG_7028.jpg

It's a canvas material with black and white pictures printed on it. There were two fabric markers that came with the bag so you could color the bag to your liking.

#2 Contour Brand Lip Liner in Stud

IMG_7024.jpg

This color is a brownish nude color, very wearable for all skin types. It does have a bit of creaminess to it, but it's only allowing it to go on your lips, from there it sets up really well. I found the formula to be long wearing but still comfortable.

#3 Furless Cosmetics Eyeshadow Pigment in Sinister

IMG_7027.jpg

I don't know if it's me or if anyone else does not really care for pigments. i just make the biggest mess with them and don't find the supposed pigmentation better than panned shadows. But again, that could just be me. Anyways, so I am already biased on the review of this pigment for sure. But for this particular pigment shadow I will say the color is beautiful. You can use it alone for a very wearable daytime look or pair it with other shadows for a dramatic look. I thought it applied nicely and was somewhat easy to use (other than the mess I make with it), but I did find the pigment to fade some when wearing it throughout the day.

#4 Tarte Retractable Liner in Sex Kitten

IMG_7025.jpg

Tarte is known for their liners and I have had plenty of them to know this one would be just the same. They are rich in color, full of pigment and extremely long wearing. When I did my swatch on my arm, I couldn't get it off with makeup remover until the next day....and I am pretty sure I can still see hints of it on my arm. But with that said, this is not easy to use on the upper lash line. I find it too dry to get a nice line from it, without pulling my lid.

#5 Glossier Balm Dotcom in Rose scent

IMG_7023.jpg

What can I say about a lip balm? It's just that.....a lip balm. It has the consistency of a little bit softer ChapStick, but not jelly texture like Vaseline. I am not a fan of rose scents, but lucky for me this one is not very strong in scent or taste, so it was very wearable for me.

#6 Winky Lux Powdered Lights in Charm

IMG_7026.jpg

I have had mixed feelings about this brand's shadows they put out. They are very "hit and miss" for me. But this one was a hit. It looks white in the pan but when applied it has a shift of strong pink color in it. It's nice to use as a highlight and as an eyeshadow and that's how I prefer to wear it. It does fade throughout the day from my eyes, but not my cheeks.

Now, here's how I used these products.

ipsy look.jpg

I used the pigment to pack on the middle of my eye to to outer V and blend up into the crease. I patted the Winky Lux highlight on the first third of my eye to meet the pigment. I then used the eyeliner to line my lower water line and smudged it out on the lash line with the pigment. I lined (well did the best I could to line) my upper lash line. Then I took my pencil brush and ran it across the tip of the actual eyeliner to pickup some of the color and ran it across my upper lash line and heavier in my outer corner to smoke it all out a bit. I followed up with some mascara and my eye look was done. For my lips I used the lip liner and lined my entire lips and then put a dot of the balm on to mix with the liner and make a glossy lipstick. And there you have it.

Now....for all of these products, will I keep using them?

THE VERDICT IS:

#1 The Bag:
Probably not, it will be donated I am sure. I usually don't keep these bags unless they are too cute to get rid of and I wasn't too fond of this one. So it will go to someone who needs a little cosmetic valve.

#2 The Lip Liner
Yes, I do enjoy this liner and the color and was very impressed with it.

#3 The Pigment
Nope, it will go with all of the other pigments.....to my makeup loving nieces, where it won't make a mess at my house anymore. :)

#4 Tarte Mini Eyeliner
This will go it to the travel box I keep for, well, travel. My little mini eyeliner in the RV is getting pretty slim so it will be replacing that one for sure.

#5 Glossier Lip Balm
This will also go to the RV.....I was just thinking today about how I needed one to put by my bed in the trailer and since this has no color or much flavor or scent and can't melt, it would be perfect for the RV.

#6 Highlight Powder
While I liked it much better than the pigment, I still like highlighters I own much more than this one. So it will go to the nieces also.

And that's my review of my March Ipsy bag. I hope you enjoyed and will back tomorrow for more makeup here at 523, where I will be featuring a bold look with the Milani Bold Obsessions pallet, again. I really liked the look and can't wait to share it with you tomorrow. Also, I am working through my March Boxy Charm subscription this week and should have the reviews ready for next week, for you.

Until then, take care!!

-Kim

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 15 SBD worth and should receive 56 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you for giving mekp tutorials

You are very welcome! Thanks for visiting my blog! :)

I love makeup!

Yes, me too!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42