You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemian identity crisis - what a picture of you holding up a card really means...

Wow, I did not expect the post to get that philosophical. The whole memory loss scenario is really interesting, especially thinking of how we spread around pieces of our identity all over the digital world. You make some really good points on the matter, I especially appreciated this passage:

I don't dare to trust the profile photo of that sweet innocent looking girl or the handsome young man. And I can only put as much trust in the photo of a smiling adult holding up a sign written in pen as the technical limitations of Photoshop image manipulation. But the interactions of that person on Steemit with all the other steemians is something that I haven't seen in even the most sophisticated of chatbots, because there is always something about it that would feel too consistent and rational compared to a human being.

I guess we tend to trust that photo because we intimately believe that most people wouldn't take the time and effort to create a false identity. Maybe, despite all that happens everyday, we still tend to trust people with our instincts. But, I wonder, isn't rationality and consistency something we try and strive to when we post online? Aren't we actively trying to look less like human beings and more like reliable, trustworthy personas when we write, we comment, we discuss on platforms like this? I guess the last paragraph of your post kind of answers my question. You gave me a lot to think on, even as a guy who tries to be himself every chance he gets!

Sort:  

I didn't expect this post to get so philosophical either :D I guess as I was writing it I kept asking myself whether this was just another post that is there to generate interest or to really try and make me think harder about what my message is (and therefore what the message for the audience is). Now I will be thinking about this question when I look at someone's profile and the posts that they write, starting with yours :)

Well I had the idea of taking my picture with a sign today, since I still have to write down my introduction post, but now I'm not sure it's worth it!

I think it is one part of establishing your identity, just that maybe it is not as important as you might think it is :) I have only asked the questions in the post but admittedly I don't have any of the answers. But you should definitely write that post one way or another :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42