You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemian identity crisis - what a picture of you holding up a card really means...

The problem with 'who I am' or 'what my identity is' is the reason why I delayed 4 months in writing an introduceyourself post. I think the medium you're introducing yourself in will affect how you go about identifying yourself. You wouldn't use the same small talk sentence necessarily when you're at a bar meeting new people and when you're at a professional networking event. It's all so strange.

I also enjoyed your meditation on the lack of reliabilty of our own memories. This is why I'm constantly suspicious of myself even in the act of journaling. I can't seem to trust that I'm recording things fairly and accurately. Our minds are such tricksters, eh? But maybe we can trust that some of the time when our minds want to re-write an experience, it could be that it's working to protect us from something damaging...

Sort:  

I had similar thoughts about writing that introduceyourself post, but in the end I went for something that was uniquely me (the origami flower petal cranes) because I couldn't find anyone else in the world that produced something like it. But I know that there's something unique and individual about all of us that sometimes we do want to keep away from the rest of the world, and ironically it might be the only thing that you can safely hold onto and identify you from everyone else.

I had some interesting discussions with @edward.maesen on the subject of memories and how it can shift and change as our mind changes as well (and therefore not to be trusted blindly). Perhaps he will provide a comment or two here as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31