Information Finding Championship - Season 1 : Round 11 entry

in #makesteemitgreat-again6 years ago (edited)

For some reason this was the first image that came to my head when I think of the IFC, probably because the name sounds so similar (I am not a UFC fan per se, but mixed martial arts is interesting in its own right).

First, a big apology to @apolymask because I have been wanting to participate in the contest since @yeszuzia created those lovely images but there were lots of things to do in many other groups over the past few weeks... but now that this is also linked to the #newbieresteemday and #newbiegames initiative it makes my life just that much easier. I am of course now up to speed on where things are because of the excellent updates from @charisma777 and would like to put in my entry for Round 11.

Level system idea

@xomegax's idea of a visual representation of the levels and the calculation of the experience is a really good idea, although I have always been more of a board game person than a platform gamer myself. So I'd love to keep track of the game's progress visually using something like a board game (maybe an idea for the next round?), and also we can definitely get some templates for character sheets to keep track of levels and wins (also an idea for the next round?). I enjoyed seeing people come up with their own designs for the bingo game I hosted, so it might be good to see people create their own character sheet?

Anyway, getting back to the contest I think the core idea of Levels in RPG games has a few game mechanics elements associated with it:

  • the use of more powerful items (e.g. weapons, artifacts, potions) which ties in with the artifact idea as well
  • the unlocking of more powerful skills (typically tracked in a 'skill-tree'), but in this case I think it will complicate the game too much
  • the increase in attributes (e.g. power, intelligence, dexterity) that help you with various tasks, so we can create different types of characters when people level up and introduce some criteria for the challenges

Let's look at the simplest way to implement the level system ideas

  • create artifacts that require certain different levels to use, or have greater power when you are at a higher level
  • allow unlocking of skills when you level up (e.g. ask someone else for help, collaborate with someone, get a heads up on the next round contest so you have more time, etc.)

You can then combine ideas to create more complex concepts

  • create artifacts that require specific levels and attributes to use
  • create skills that require specific artifacts (and level) to perform

I think depending on the comments and input from people that have already been playing for a little while, we can fine tune the complexity of the game mechanics to the appropriate level, but it certainly introduces more interesting dynamics to the game.

Artifact idea

Artifacts in games fall into categories based on the properties it requires to use, and the effects it has on the game. Without making things too complicated, let's look at the main ones:

  • Consumables: these are generally perishable items that improve character attributes or skills (e.g. add health, boost strength/attack, etc.) and because they exist in larger numbers the effects tend to be less
  • Equipment: these are permanent items (although some games allow them to be worn out from use) that also improve character attributes or skills
  • Quest items: these are part of the requirements for completing a mission or quest, so you have to obtain them (sometimes more than one) but they are not used for anything specific

Let's look at some ways that we can use each of these types of artifacts then:

  • how about a 'level up' consumable to allow people to level up instantly? Of course you have to earn this from playing so there is always some effort involved
  • how about some quest items awarded for similar types of contests (e.g. an ART relic for drawing/creative related entries) and when you collect a certain amount you can exchange it for an artifact?
  • there's plenty of ideas for equipment, and I think we can create a few different categories of artifacts that improve character attributes and skills as long as we don't make one player or another too powerful for some reason.

I think perhaps a discussion with @apolymask and @xomegax might generate more ideas, so I will probably drop by the Discord group and do that :) Any suggestions or feedback in the comments section would also be appreciated.

Sort:  

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

Thanks for the comment :) Did you submit an entry as well?

I am sorry, but this is the second post of yours I have seen on IFC pages. I scrolled back, and back, and back, 8 pages worth, of steemd and saw this same comment for the last 16 hours, and not one single upvote. Do you have a second account that does the upvoting? are you waiting for your vote power to rebuild, (you are at 98%+), or are you just hoping some people will throw you a vote? I would suggest that if you have a second account voting that you include it in your comments, because I am pretty sure if I see your comment on any other post, I might just flag it.

1st one is the best one!!
its too good!!

Hi @mafi001, I can see that you have some really nice sketches and drawings on your profile. Maybe you will submit an entry for this round as well?

thank you for see my blog,but how can i entry please ?

The bonus round will be focused on the subject of "dance" any kind of artwork or subject matter relate to dance will be considered, and this will be a separate challenge than round 11.

You can look at an example entry by @amariespeaks here: https://steemit.com/informationfinding/@amariespeaks/information-finding-championship-season-1-my-bonus-entry-dancing-shoes

Awesome entry. :) Glad to see you participating!
You have numerous interesting ideas that I think might help! Definitely need to really go through your entry and the others more cause there's A LOT of really good information between the 4 of you who have entered this round so far.. I think with pieces from each of your submissions we will be able to make this a much more enjoyable game for everyone!

Also I'm really intrigued by your board game idea.. I think there might be something to that! Gotta think about it more though.. And yeah feel free to drop by the discord chat and we can all talk about this stuff some more. :)

What do you mean by the character templates and letting people create their own? Like.. That sounds like a good idea! But I need more info.

And in regards to stats like dex str int, etc.. I'm open minded to implementing such, but.. I'm just not sure how that would work in terms of the actual game play mechanics itself, like.. How would more int or str or dex help someone submit an artistic entry better?
I'm still a bit unsure of how that would work, and how levels would work in general despite growing up on RGPS until I saw omegas post which I think might be the answer in regards to artifacts.. Then when people level up they can get an artifact or something like that.. I think that might work! Then levels will actually mean something and you'll get a reward for leveling up. But hey.. Maybe there's another option out there! I'm open to continually changing and refining this if people can come up with better ideas!

Thanks again for the great entry and glad to see you playing in the contest! :)

You can google character sheet rpg games to get an idea, but here is an example:

It basically just allows you to keep track of the stats and rules of the game in a much more personal way, and since there are so many creative people here it could also lead to other interactions.

The character stats usually relate to what type of artifacts and skills you can use, but I think it would be unnecessarily difficult for this game, but it is worth thinking about because since it is a key element of rpg games.

Thanks! Will definitely look into it more, might be helpful!
I would like to give people an opportunity to customize and personalize their characters more, and maybe with the board game idea we could sort of turn this into a more of a DND type of thing, but.. Still.. I'm not sure how traditional RPG stats will work with this kind of sort of "talent show". BUT.. With enough creativity and thought and working on it, I think between all of us we can figure out something that works well! :)

nice project..

Nice post, and good thoughts there @plushzilla. Ideas and information, and yeah, things were real busy, this last weekend I was like a chicken with it's head freshly cut off. LoL.

I saw you pop up everywhere all at the same time just like Santa Claus (and you were giving out lots of support and presents as well :D). Hope things get back to normal for you this weekend :)

good stuff. We're really starting to get some solid content on IFC. I seen you joined the discord chat too didn't you? :)

Yes, finally made my way there after getting my act together and joining the contest :)

Wheu awesome. Its been a blast and now with the sponsors and everything I think its really starting to take flight!

loved the idea will be looking forward if we can incorporate out ideas together

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54