You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemian identity crisis - what a picture of you holding up a card really means...

Maybe to make it even more philosophical... is there such a thing as 'identity'? Perhaps the problem is not so much that it can be stolen, but that we rely on it so much in the first place.

Existentialism would say we recreate our self every moment of every day. Is it my identity that leads me to act in a certain way, or is my act what makes who I am? For centuries mankind thought the first, but I'm glad we live in an age where it is the second... Although there is not complete freedom to create whatever we want.

Not sure how we could conceive of a world that is not based on identity, a life not based on identity in the sense that you use the word. Something to think about (for me at least...)...

Sort:  

Yes, I think if we wanted to ask if it exists rather than what it is then discussions about existentialism certainly comes into play. We could also ask why it is that we rely on it so much in the first place as well!

If we want to be logical and practical, the view that we are all part of the identity of humanity (since we are all made up of the same particles that have been around since the birth of the universe, or part of the same algorithm in the simulation) is perhaps a more holistic perspective.

I feel like there should be another post to follow some of these interesting comments, but I feel inadequately equipped to deal with the philosophical line of reasoning used to question and understand these concepts :p Probably why I didn't end up writing an even longer post...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31