You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem for Life - An idea for blockchain based learning platform

I love your idea of a learning platform on steemit @plushzilla, and would like to contribute where/when approriate. My biggest question is:

How do we connect people who want to learn with those that want to teach (and vice versa)?

Steemit is in my current view a short-term social platform where contributions disappear quickly and are difficult to discover later on. I'm trying to solve this somewhat by adding references to older related posts in my new posts, but that feels clunky at best.

Thanks to your earlier writings about @steemgigs I started thinking what I could contribute there, but got stuck in trying to write a post about my qualifications. If you look at my tagline in my profile you can see that it ranges from physics and software development to photography to sound healing and mysticism. Throughout my career I've always gravitated to the role of mentor, so I know I am a natural teacher in a sense. But how that translates to the online world in general and steemit in particular I'm still trying to figure out.

Sort:  

You're right, the way Steemit works is not designed so much for learning as it is for creating opportunities and connections, but that in itself is the catalyst or spark for learning as well. My experience with various forms of engagement associated with the Steemit blockchain indicates to me that there's no one 'correct' way to do this, but we need to promote ourselves and other people in a way that shows what we do and believe in. In a sense this is like creating a brand or identity, but one in which shows how we can connect one person to another in a meaningful way.

I am still pondering and trying to evolve this idea until it becomes something more tangible, much in the same way that surpassinggoogle conceived many of his ideas on this platform. However, we can all do a little bit more with connecting and getting to know more people on this platform because I feel like there are many 'closed circles' here that limit ourselves to further learning.

Just out of interest, I am wondering if you are connected to people on @steemstem and some of the software development projects on utopian.io (and outside of it). I know that there are plenty of people that talk about photography, and a growing number posting about healing and mysticism. Perhaps there are some connections and opportunities there if we put some of our knowledge and skills together :)

Also, my friend is starting to write about his research into the photography users on steemit (I was going through a draft before) so it would be great to get your thoughts and feedback once they are published (I will let you know).

Finding connections has been a bit of a struggle for me. I recently discovered SteemSearch (currently offline) which makes it a bit easier to search steemit but it is time consuming. Some kind of community aspect to steemit might be a solution, I don't know.

I wasn't familiar with @steemstem and am not sure if I'd fit in there. Though I started my career as a conventional physicist, my observations about inconsistencies and dogmatic belief systems have put me on a search for alternative physics, with which I'm now much more comfortable.

I recently left the world of software development, and though I have been tinkering on my own I'm not sure I'd want to get back into that area - although I'd be open to some sort of consultant role.

I've been thinking of a photography teaching series that goes beyond the typical technical aspects but got a bit stuck there as well. I'm happy to help your friend with his research, whether it's commenting on a draft or a published version.

Anyway... I'm currently in a waiting pattern... looking for opportunities to arise...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59020.34
ETH 2514.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47