You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemian identity crisis - what a picture of you holding up a card really means...

I actually didn't do that picture thing with my introdoceyourself post. Neither did Carrie. Maybe it's only because we didn't read the directions.

Like you, I'm inclined not to trust that a person is a real person just because they posted a pic with their name and the date. What I always trust, however, is real interaction. And I trust myself to know it when I see it. Absolutely the most valuable thing about this movement is the real people behind the computers.

As for identity...
You may have noticed that my profile description is tabula rasa, nothing more. This is Latin for Blank Slate. It's my mantra, my motto, my slogan, whatever. I have it tattooed on my back, and it's the only tattoo I'll ever get. I have always viewed identity as a sort of trap for the clever to avoid. I think it's important to experience everything as though for the first time. Living this way has made life a truly joyful experience for me, and it's only getting better.

I think identity is nothing more than the average of the way others see us. It shouldn't have to interfere with what we think of ourselves. Every day we can do anything or be anything we want. I'm fine with letting identity run its course; it can take care of itself.

Thanks for a great post, @plushzilla! Really got me thinking.

Sort:  

I didn't know there were instructions/directions, but then when I saw other introduceyourself posts I realized that there was a reason to this (which at least makes a difference to the number of upvotes and payout you get from the post).

If identity is the average of the way others see us, then for you it must be a fluid kind of thing, which means there are temporal aspects/quality to it, which makes sense because people can change. How this fits into a digital system where there must be rules to everything for things to work is interesting... I have to give this some more thought as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31