Tardis inspired engagement ring box: A proposal in time and space.

in #maker7 years ago (edited)

I and my girlfriend really love the series: Doctor who.

For an engagement proposal to my whovian girlfriend, I was thinking of an idea for a ring and a nice-looking box. And I thought Tardis could be a great idea for a promise for an engagement, as it represent the thing in the time and space.

From the consideration for the structure of the box, I decided to make the box in slide-up style, and designed it. At first I thought the 10th doctor's tardis, but my girlfriend loves Matt's seasons. So I changed the design a bit. I used 5cm steel PCB pillar for the columns in the box, but the pilar also could be printed. (but not recommended for the smooth movement of the top cover) To assemble the box, use M3 screw for every hole at the bottom of the base, and for use washer for innerbox-pilar attachment.

I didn't make the screw thread for holes, It hardly printed by most of FDM 3D printers, So I made a screw hole a bit smaller then m3 screws. it could be a bit tight, but if you make the screw perpendicular to the surface, it will work.


For the window, thin acryl plate(37~38mm * 18~1919mm) is used. You need to color them for 11th and 12th doctor's Tardis window design.

The final assembled one looks like the image below.
And printable images of signs were downloaded from the internet. Just adjust the size of the images and printed them on paper or label.

I'm not sure it could be romantic for my girlfriend, too. But it would be the unique one not in anywhere else.

Sort:  

Congratulations @choinw! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56523.53
ETH 2982.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15