Making Raspberry powered BMO computer

in #maker7 years ago (edited)

I had some old raspberry pi boards and someday I started to think of some applications for them.
What I was doing with them are gaming(Retropie), media center(kodi), or several different diy projects.

The first goal of the project was integration of all the applications working on my raspberry pi. And use it everyday on my desk.

I decided to integrate them into one system(That doesn't need any external input device like keyboard and mouse for the ordinary use). It seems like Retropie could be the solution that is suitable for the project goal. It is a system built on many different types of single board computers and it has really great UI frontend called emulation station. and I can add many application like KODI on it.

For the everyday use, nice look of the machine became another project goal. After researching a nice-looking cases (commercial, opensources, and so on.) I decided to design and make my own. In the animation series "Adventure time" there is a character called BMO (it is a game machine which walk, talk, play games and do many things in the movie.) The character I decide to make looks so funny and it would be a good model of my project.

So I started to design BMO shaped case with free software "Sketch up". And start 3D printing.


While designing the machine, I thought it would be nicer if it has the screen. So I started to find a screen to be attached on my machine and I found a good solution for the car application that has video signal input.
스크린샷 2017-07-03 오후 8.08.03.png



I detached the screen from the device I purchased from Aliexpress and start re-designing the front panel of my device . Fortunately, the size of the screen really fits on my machine.

After finishing painting all the 3D printed parts, the next job was assembling all parts into one device. Raspberry pi is working with 5V DC input. But the car monitor is working with 12V DC usually supplied by cars. So I had to order some parts to transform the voltage. and also some speaker and audio amplifier is attached on the device. To minimize soldering, I designed the product with some commercial breakout boards. (Parts list would be described below.)

Finally I got the working BMO, that has game machine and media player inside it.

It is working with the playstation controller I had. and I am still working on adding voice recognition feature on it using external microphone and google voice engine. By binding voice engine and HID interface. I believe I can make the device working with voice command set. All the progress I am working on is being recorded on thingiverse, too. please see the working video below and check the thingiverse link if you are interested in.

Sort:  

Hi @choinw

Thanks for sharing and i will follow you on both Thingiverse and Steemit, we need more makers here on Steemit and need to join together.

Thingiverse is not innovating and the community is limited.

I will add you to the list i made and published on Steemit with users that are posting about 3d printing.

List: https://steemit.com/printing/@techtek/list-of-steemit-users-that-are-posting-about-3d-printing

Thanks for your information. It would be nice if I have any chance to show my job and see other guys' work. I'll follow them.

Your welcome and looking forward to see your other work as well

( i have added your name to the list, few people on the list have resteemed it, Please upvote the post and consider to resteem the list as well )

Congratulations @choinw! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Arrechisimo mi pana jejej y lindo a la ves

very nice a greeting from venezuela follow me and I follow you @beartsan

Love Game Boy. Love the Game Genie. Love innovation here. Thank you. I'm Doctor Oatmeal. I'm the one & only Joey Arnold of the Oregon Hawaii Vietnam.

Thanks. I love playing old games. This would be a really nice machine for.my daily use.

Hahahaha very nice!

I think the next one could do a bit smaller, but it's cool.

Upvoted.

Thanks. This BMO is not originally a portable model. I'm thinking of make another one with Raspberry pi3. It could be a smaller portable console.

Nice I like what you did. Have fun wit it.

Nice! I am a Raspberry Pi tinkerer myself, just recently I set up my own personal cloud server hosted from a Raspberry Pi 3, and an external hard drive. There are so many awesome applications one can make with a very low budget!
Followed & Upvoted & Resteemed
Cheers!

Yes. RPi3 is really nice small computer that has unlimited potential. Hope to see other people's work.

@choinw
Good Post!
Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83