Makeover Monday - Cover Songs from the Television Show Mayans MC Pt. 1

in #makeovermonday5 years ago
Welcome to another #makeoveromonday! I hope everyone had a great holiday here in the United States. I did a little traveling over the weekend, but not too far. Today we are going to focus as a part of yesterday's #soundtracksunday by using the television show Mayans MC which premiered this fall and recently had it's Season 1 Finale (hence the Pt. 1).

Anyone who is a fan of Kurt Sutter's knows that the music on his shows are usually spot on and go with the plot line very well. He also (I'm not sure if he has anything to do with the music department, but I'm pretty sure he has a good say so in what is played) is known for using cover songs of more famous songs in his television shows. You can definitely hear what I am talking about if you take a look at songs that were played when *Sons of Anarchy* aired. So, let's start this #makeovermonday already!

First up on the roster is a song that was played during the teaser trailers for the show before it aired. As soon as I heard it, I knew I had to start watching the show because anyone who could cover a Rolling Stones song in Spanish was good in my book.

1.Todo Negro (Paint It Black) as performed by Los Salvajes. Even though this song was originally released by The Rolling Stones in 1966, Los Salvajes released this version that same year on one of their EPs. Bet you didn't think this cover version was that old. I sure didn't. I did have to Google this group and found out that their name means "The Savages" in English, and they formed together in 1962 in Barcelona.

2.Rezo una Oración por Ti (I Say A Little Prayer For You) as performed by Diana Germanos y Los Refugios Tiernos. It was released this year (2018) but originally performed by Dionne Warwick. The song was written by Burt Bacharach and Hal David and Ms. Warwick released it in 1967.

3.Sweet Jane by Diana Germanos and Los Refusios Tiernos. I know that I covered this song last week, but hearing Diana Germanos sing this in English, just after hearing her sing in Spanish sounds like a completely different person. This song was originally recorded by The Velvet Underground in 1970.

I hope you enjoyed today's cover songs and look forward to hearing some feedback. If I missed one from the series you liked, let me know which one!

You can also check out yesterday's #soundtracksunday since this post ties in with that.

Soundtrack Sunday - Mayans MC

Sincerely,
Ilsa Ione

ilsaione_blue.png

Sort:  

My wife and I haven't started watching this yet. We have all of the episodes DVR'd but I asked her if she wanted to start watching it or wait until we could just binge it and she said she wanted to wait. I am looking forward to digging into it though.

There were a couple of episodes I had to watch twice because I knew I was going to n miss v something later on in the plot line. Hope you all enjoy it. It starts off a little slow, but there's an entire season of SoA that I usually bypass when I binge watch it.

Hi @ilsaione I know it's disrespectful to write here, in this publication, but I do not see another way. My name is José Coraspe and together with my colleagues I have a group called Primera Fila. This group will give a pop music concert in December and I had an idea, absurd from some points of view, in which I ask some people to make a video clip inviting people for that concert, and as Steemit has been a great help for us I thought about asking that help from the most influential people of this platform, and for me you are ... I know it is absurd but nothing I lose with trying, I hope your answer ... We are from Venezuela

Hi! I am not sure what exactly you are asking. Are you asking me to make a video? I realize you are in Venezuela, but I do not speak any Spanish and wish I could invite in Spanish. Do you have footage of your band playing where I could take a listen?

@ilsaione hello if what I want is for you to make a video where you say "I invite you this December 21 to the first concert of First Row, they are a group of pop music that you can not miss" or something similar .. No matter the language,
These are some of our songs:



Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ilsaione from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34