Makeover Monday - Bluegrass Cover Songs Pt. 1

in #makeovermonday6 years ago
Today's #makeovermonday is going to focus on a genre that I used to not be particularly fond of...bluegrass music. There is a little story behind why I started listening to *some* Bluegrass Music. I was in a well-known department store one night and was browsing through the cd's and came across a cd that was called "Pickin' on Green Day". It was a band that covered their songs, but did it in the style of Bluegrass. Now, granted, again, I wasn't a fan of the genre, but I decided to give it a go and actually liked a few of the songs. I did some research and came across a few other bands that did Bluegrass cover versions of popular music. Here are just a few to get this #makeovermonday started!

1.When I Come Around as performed by Cornbread Red ft. Honeywagon. The original song was first released as a single in early 1995 by the band known as Green Day. This band took a punk rock band's song and made listening to Bluegrass Covers tolerable for me.

2.Back In Black as performed by Hayseed Dixie. The original song was released in 1980 by AC/DC just a few months after Bon Scott's death with a new lead singer. While I love the original version, I can also tolerate this Bluegrass version as well!

3.Kryptonite as performed by Cornbread Red. Okay, I did not intentionally mean to use the same artist twice in this post, but I had to look up who sang this version, and it was Cornbread Red. Kryptonite was originally performed by the band 3 Doors Down and the original song was released in 2000.

  • What are your thoughts on this series? Did you enjoy it enough to see a Part 2?

Sincerely,
Ilsa Ione

ilsaione_red.png

Sort:  

Very nice! I used to hate bluegrass as well. When I was a kid we camped somewhere in Kentucky and the campground had a dance one night. It was nothing but bluegrass music into the wee hours of the morning. We just had a pop up, so there wasn't much sound masking going on. Now I think it would have been awesome to have watched the live band!

Where did you all go camping? I've been to several places in Kentucky and they love their Bluegrass music, that's for sure! I was very surprised when I heard remakes of popular music in this style.

I would have to ask my parents. I was just a little kid, but I remember how upset they were that we weren't able to sleep 😁

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ilsaione from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57372.40
ETH 2456.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41