My Newest Recipe for VEGAN SCONES Has Literally Changed My Life! Let Me Explain...


Although I live in Ireland there's one bit of Englishness that will stay with me forever, and that's my love for home-baked scones.  



Those featured above are the long-time favourite sugar-free spelt & wholewheat, my own recipe, which I (used to) eat every single day... until I made my mind to take that last step to veganism.  



In England we have the tradition of "afternoon tea" - usually scones with lavish amounts of jam & butter, or jam & cream, served together with a nice big steaming pot of tea.  If they're fresh out the oven you can't beat them... the best snack in the whole world.


(source)


However, the problem with traditional scones is that they rely heavily on animal products - namely butter, milk and eggs.  A recipe that requires only one of these ingredients is hard enough to make vegan, but all three?  Tricky.  


This was the one recipe that was holding back my impending veganism!


You may wonder why I wouldn't simply bake myself an easier vegan snack and save the trouble.  But you see, for me there's just no substitute.  I don't eat much bread (though I bake plenty for my family!) and scones are one of those wonderfully versatile snacks that you can make plain or fruity, savoury or sweet, light and fluffy or crumbly, and never get bored of the endless options.


But a few days ago I finally cracked it!  Look at these beauties of which I'm so proud...!



Although not quite as 'light and fluffy' as traditional buttery/milky/eggy scones, they are an excellent vegan version.  As you can see they have risen well, they slice well, and they taste, well, like scones!!!



One of the many reasons I love baking is it's soooo sensual.


And this is a very important thing to realise, because if you can get the raw mixture feeling right at each stage of the process, then the product is likely to turn out successfully. 


The ingredients you substitute have to behave in a similar way to the original otherwise it might - quite literally - fall apart!


For example, 'scoopable' coconut oil behaves similar to butter, whereas olive oil doesn't.  For me, flavour is a secondary consideration rather than the first, and is usually easier to accomplish.



My son has never been able to tolerate dairy very well, and I'm pleased to now have a stock of vegan scones for him to snack on too.  Like his Mama he loves a good scone!



And as a Mama you do anything for your children and their health :-)



We even left a few crumbs for the birdies...



Watch out for the RECIPE post this week!!!



If you have any healthy suggestions or recipes that would make great snacks, please tag your post with  #makeithealthy and they will feature in the new curation series "Make It Healthy LUNCHBOX".  Let's get our children eating healthy NOW so they don't have to learn how to heal later on in life!




For all kinds of health information, tips, recipes (vegan), crafts, photography, and more, please follow me!
 

To find out what the "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here.




Sort:  

Se ven muy deliciosos esos dulces. Saludos desde Venezuela y que tenga una feliz tarde.

¡Muchas gracias!

Oh these look so good @woman-onthe-wing! I haven't baked in a minute, it's been too hot here haha

Thanks very much Ann! yeah, it's been pretty warm here too and have to peel off a few layers in the kitchen sometimes!

howdy from Texas @woman-onthe-wing! this is a great post Ma'am. I don't know how you did it but I agree, this is a wonderful breakthrough for vegans. These have to be low-carb also correct?

Thank you @janton, I'm very pleased with them as my first vegan scones ever! Boy oh boy I do love scones :-) As for carbs, I'm not as clued up on that side of things, because I focus on whole and natural rather than counting calories and all that! For me, the focus is getting a good balance of nutrition, fresh foods in their whole and unaltered states, free from additives and chemical processes, and not over-eating! I sometimes read people's blogs who mention only allowing themselves a few slices of avocado rather than a half or the whole thing, and I sometimes feel we're missing the point when we start counting calories in natural produce. But of course each to their own point of view!

howdy back again @woman-onthe-wing! yeah I never pay attention to any calories and never weigh, we don't even own a scale.
but how do you not overeat when you're in the presence of those delicious scones? I wouldn't have any will power!

The only thing i keep track of is carbs because of the Keto eating but I'm not that attentive or restrictive. I love your philosophy and all that you're doing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71