Back to the Basics - Considering New Directions Within Magickal/Occult Practices

in #magick7 years ago

It's Coming Together

Rumdancer orange and black.png

Got a new image made up for SoundCloud and YouTube so perhaps I can properly place my stuff on line. Then, just as I feel I got it, there is so much more. I guess that is good for the proverbial job security then, isn't it?

I swear I was in a coma for 15 years. I feel sometimes like I was in a cacoon, just waiting to be free. During my sheltered time, I got the opportunity to live inside a relatively closed world. Then I didn't have to struggle to remember to do a meditation or a ritual. Then, I didn't have the time. That being said, I can't say that I was any happier.

I feel more sure about the future than I have in a long time. I am looking forward to exploring magick, the occult and keeping my research going, moving forward. I have struggled to find a way to incorporate magick into my daily life when life is so different and so far, this seems to be working well. For that, I want to say thank you and share an early morning conversation about magick and moving forward.



It is my opinion that the esoteric and divine should be in our lives on a casual level. It shouldn't be like going to church. It shouldn't be like being in an unhappy state. It shouldn't be about forcing ourselves to have to practice. Sure, this month has been tough. This year has been tough, really. It's been a while and I do forget now and then to do my rituals. i go into myself and into a funk and it is heavy as it deep, for me. It's easy to forget perspective, but with the help of a few friends and our basic practices, I know that I can get on a more regular and predictable, and albeit , a more stable path.

I have thought a lot about this and what needs to be done. What I need for the future. I know that for me a schedule has helped in the past. I know that for students, seeing is believing as well. I think this could be a great opportunity moving forward.

Ideas for Moving Forward

The main thing I would like to attain during this process is transparency of practice. The reason for this is that with secrecy gone, I have concerns growing for how magick will remain effective, well, as effective as it is today and then as it was in the past (I suspect it was innately stronger). I know that journaling is helpful for personal evidence but I also know that I can and will complete my entries. The hard part is proving it.

In the past there wasn't the pressure to perform as there is now. Today, I see less dramatic and thought out rituals and it saddens me. Then again, I have come to realize that this is partially because people don't have to do the work. They don't have a coven leaning on them, as more witches become solitary. They have fewer teachers to push, as training grows weak and watered down in many areas of practice. There are a lot possible contributions, but what it boils down to is that I know there is a need for change and support. The best I can do is to provide my services, but before that I need to verify that the timing is right and make sure of my own path. I decided the best way to do both of these things is by going through my own basics the next few weeks.

Back to the Basics

I believe it is time to seriously rewrite and refocus my curriculum. I don't know exactly how that is going to look, but we will find out together. Initially, I am preparing for a 15 - 18 week course. I plan on completing my research on the history of witchcraft and the occult. I then am going to finish a few works I am in the middle of. I am hoping they tell em or help me find, rather, the kind of group and community that I am looking for. My spirituality is of the highest importance to me and I would like to be able to say that I also help someone and am able to do the job I am called to do, that of a priestess.

That being said, where to go from here?

Goals:

  1. Do 30 days of intentional journaling. (needs to be defined and explained)
  2. Spend a few hours minimum in the wild, hiking, being in nature, foraging etc etc each week.
  3. Do at least 2 rituals per day. Create a schedule and experiment with times.
  4. Complete the last of my letter cards for Hebrew. You lose it when you don't use it too often!
  5. Create a suggested schedule for other areas as a way to lock down the responsibilities that I have been let slipping in the mundane
  6. Finish history work and comb through of the Kybalion
  7. Write out the base outline of beliefs, religious practices and preferences (Referred to as Personal Manifest)

So far, these are my basic desired things that I would like to take into account to attain my future goals. I plan on checking in least once a week to measure progress and plan to document on the block chain.

Love and Light Good Steemians!

I'll post day one very soon! It was quite heavy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44