Sort:  

I really like how you turn your sigils into these further detailed works, reminds me of Alchemical recipes in a withdrawn way.. heh.

Is the sigil the main image in the center or is it spread across the entire work?

And do you mind telling us what this one is?

Thank you @alchemage - the sigil is the main image - the butterfly. It is a personal sigil for @antonchanning because he was enjoying coloring in the sigils I was posting - I posted one for Gaia - he and his wife downloaded and colored. Then I posted a couple more because suddenly I am into making these bug sigils - he liked those so I offered to do one for him so that he could feel a personal connection to it - if he wanted to color it in... what does this mean "Alchemical recipes in a withdrawn way." ? I am pretty new to this -stumbled on it because I was looking for ways to expand my artwork - I do scry lines for people into pictures but wanted something more - stumbled on Austin Osman Spare... but that's about as far as I have gone...

Beautiful, thank you for explaining. :)

Alchemists use woodburnings and other paintings to create their recipes. Their recipes are spiritual workings of the highest order. The way they are designed is to work their processes even in the uninitiated.

Such as this:
alchemy.jpg

I have considered copying these images in the past - hoping that insodoing I would understand them...

They're not really meant to be understood in a left-brain logical sort of way... more of a subconscious imprint.

thanks @jphenderson, my left-brain is broken so I pretty much use my right brain for everything, but it does get in there and want to control things...

Nice. That is three we have to colour now. Maybe we'll have a bit of a session.

glad you like it. :)

thats a sigil? cool

@the-fillosopher the butterfly is the sigil, and the rest is art - it places the sigil in a context so that the left brain can no longer recognize it as a statement and the right brain can set about getting it done...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99