The Alchemy of Mirrors - A Practical Guide

in #magick6 years ago

Narcissus in Greco Mythology is one of the earliest fables available to us that show us the power of the self image and reflection.

In case you don't know, the story goes that Narcissus fell into the lake after having an admiration of his own beauty and falling into trance; other stories suggest he was gazing into the lake to remind himself of what his dead sister looked like. Yet another story tells of the spirit of the lake who was very fond of Narcissus. Her words state that as Narcissus looked deeply on her, she could see her own beauty reflected in his eyes.

Perception really is a magnificent thing...

Mirrors; be it glass, water or obsidian; have been used in scrying and alchemy for many moons. I find, myself, that mirrors are a very powerful tool in theurgic magickal practice.

I'm sure you know now the effect of positive affirmations can have on the mind, body and spirit to counter the negative self talk of the carnal monkey mind...

So now, I present to you a practical application in the alchemy created by mirror magick where you get to see its aspects manifested directly into your world.

First, approach your mirror of choice. Notice your reflection, breathe.
Begin your practice.

Give yourself some self love. I find the Hawaiian Ho'Oponopono prayer is useful but even chanting 'I love myself'; 'I am worthy' will also work.

At this stage, i do not want to influence your outcome... But i want you to notice any differences. This, my friend, is the alchemy at its finest.

If you begin to make this a daily habitual magickal practice, I can only bet the positive force of change you will have in your waking moments.

I wish you the best of practices and I would love to hear how you are getting on with this so feel free to report back with how you are doing

pexels-photo-774866.jpeg

Sort:  

The magic that comes with mirrors started to intrigue me more and more as I read into Merlin and other magical lore. There is a fascinating part of us that seems to come out when looking into our own eyes.

Hope all the travels and lessons are going well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22