'Magic Ears' Online ESL Teacher Honest Review

in #magicears6 years ago (edited)

Magic Ears Honest Review:

I joined Magic Ears last month. The company books you based on your 'rank' in the company which I have zero tolerance for after being fully booked my first two weeks with VIPKID and later, Qkids. For instance, if you are a 'magic master' you get 100% bookings. If you are a junior teacher you get 50% bookings. This is partially dependent on how many students they have, not just your performance, although they like to pretend it is to motivate the teachers. It is all very 'carrot' and 'sticky'.

I do open two mornings a week with them and am having fun trying something new. Pay is potentially higher too if you open 60 slots per month (you don't have to teach this many just open this many) so I would maybe give them more time if I could rely on full bookings. Their platform has songs you play via audio which is a nice moment to rest during a busy and potentially chaotic class of up to four students. It is a nice change from VIPKID's sometimes boring, static, and non sensical slides.

Magic Ears has a cult like teacher community, akin to how some of the larger VIPKID groups used to be. Oh my! It is supportive but also a bit scary weird. The koolaid drinking teachers love to praise the company, especially on the point of them being more lenient on cancellations then a certain 'orange' themed company. They allow 2 cancellations per month but will NOT drill and put you through hell demanding documentation if you cancel sick at the last minute. They simply wish you well, or so I have heard. I have not had any personal experience with this yet.

There has been talk that this company is racist which they have assuaged by hiring POC after their reputation was damaged on social media. I think as long as you have very animated, high energy- the kind where you act like you are on drugs and have just had ten cups of coffee- that they will gladly hire you.

They require teachers to open 10 slots per week. So did VIPKID back in 2016. I don't think this rule is too strict.

I know how to turn on their loony over the top teaching style and was hired easily. However, I was teaching a 12 year old the other day so toned it down a bit. First class of the day, no coffee, I was also tired. I got the feedback from the company that I was not 'teaching with passion' despite the kid/parent giving me the highest rating of five stars. I definitely could not maintain ME exclusively because my energy levels fluctuate and I tend to mirror the kids. I have learned that too much over the top energy towards a reserved preteen or teen will just turn them off. Some kids need calm and serious, some nutty, some to move and be silly, etc. ME's obsession with 'teaching with passion' is a bit skewed, although I do understand what they are getting at, especially with the littles. Some uber experienced brick and mortar teachers just can't go there and don't do very well in the online environment.

Magic Ears will give you $10 per qualified referral whether the applicant signs a contract or not. It's almost worth getting hired just for the referrals!

Base pay per 25 minute class is $9 which brings your hourly up to $20 unless you open 60 slots, then it is $22. For teachers with degrees in education starting base pay is $10 which brings you up to $24 per hour. Caps at $26 I believe.

Feedback is required but minimal. No secondary rewards are necessary but props are highly encouraged if not mandatory.

They have a zero tolerance policy for noise in the classroom and teachers report teaching whole classes with the kids muted which is just stupid and stressful! Luckily, I haven't had any major issue with noise yet having taught mostly 1v1.

Lastly, you can open and close slots yourself within their booking system. Classes are not confirmed until 24 hours before start time.

Overall, I'm having fun here, especially my one on one classes which surprisingly, I have had a majority of. On other platforms, like QKids, I hate one on one. It is much easier there with multiple kids and a lot less stressful regarding noise. You can adjust each child's individual volume on Qkids which you can not do on ME's platform. There is only the option to mute them or not. Next will be my review on Qkids.

If I haven't turned you off completely, apply here: https://t.mmears.com?referralCode=T202059

Sort:  

Congratulations @dragonrisen! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37