Summer Beauty. Celebrating the New Year of 2018. Original photography. Nature's Beauty.

in #magicalmoments6 years ago (edited)

New Year's Eve: 2018.
Sticky sultry Sydney day.
Infinity smiles over the ocean.
White Gem Magnolia buds at night.
Falling apart by the morning. A simple arrangement.
To be made to celebrate the dawning of this New Year's day.
~Ally.

Maybe.

Maybe it's not just the hot and airless atmosphere that makes temperatures rise and blood begin to boil, as Christmas approaches in Sydney, but more the congested traffic on the roads along with heartless refrains of jingle bells and unreal images (for Aussies) of Santa in the snow, that seems to create an undefinable tension in the air here.

I know I'm not alone in thinking that it's a crazy world when the spirit of Christmas has become quite lost in the tension of 'last minute shopping.'

So like most people, the week between Christmas day and New Year's Day usually gives me a breather: A chance after reuniting with loved ones to mainly wind down: Read a book, garden or 'go bush' ~ Aussie expression for walking, sitting and contemplating in the anything but quiet (kookaburras, cicadas, cockatoos and magpies) bushland.

Another maybe.

Maybe one might say it's coincidence, but I find it so uncanny that whenever I choose one of the three cards in @sunscape's 'Weekly Card Reading' and read it, that it's always incredibly accurate and relevant.

For instance I chose Holiday Guidance Card 2 in the Holiday Weekly Card Reading for Dec 25 - 31.

When you feel a connection to Spirit, you see unlimited potential for transformation ~ You are supported fully in imagining something new and daring to make it happen. This is a time to dream big. You can be bold and free because Spirit inspires you to turn your dreams into reality. ~Colette Baron-Reid: Ace of Fire/Wands.

You've laid the ground work, planted the seeds and your time has come to take action. This is your two thumbs up card, so get ready for change. Inspiration, new ideas, and projects are about to launch from the spiritual realm into the natural realm ~ It's your time! ~@sunscape.

It's been six years since I completed a major art project. During this time I've worked with different ephemeral pieces, gaining from the experience of this work, but all the time knowing that something else was working within me that eventually would come to the surface. ~Ally

Finding quiet time.

A few months ago I started working with the symbol of the Seed of Life and recently shared the beginning of this creative journey with: The Crimson Seed of Life #1 and Australian Christmas: The Crimson Seed of Life #2

This work will continue to flower into 2018. However on the morning of Christmas, I was given the most beautiful of gifts: Another symbol to work with and what I feel will be just the first of many ways to work with it.

Infinity and Eternity.

The symbol: Infinity and Eternity. Same symbol but quite different meanings.

Christmas day was my first 'quiet day' for a VERY long time. And for the next few days I had intended to hang a 'Do not disturb' sign over my life. So I was able to start and complete Infinity smiling over the Ocean on Christmas day.

As soon as I edit the images of the stages of Infinity smiling over the Ocean I'll share this work here as well, with a little more explanation. At this stage I don't expect this work to be a 'best seller' but for me, it incorporates many ideas and concepts I've mused over for a very long time.

The days between Christmas day and New Year's day were bliss: Leisurely decluttering and gardening.

And only in this 'quiet time' could I begin to draw again. The drawing of the little shell in Octopus' Garden was calling for red/orange and then blue/violet.

Over a few days, I must have spent at least 12 hours on it ~ Building up ~ Rubbing back ~ Building up ~ Rubbing back. Till it was extremely overdone ~ Although a few things had been learnt in the process.

New Year's day.

And then on New Year's day, I was inspired to build a New Year's arrangement from flowers and leaves that glorified Nature's beauty.

With the following images, I would like to thank all the people who have so generously supported my art and writing attempts in 2017, as well as all the amazingly creative people whose work has both touched and inspired me ~ Beyond words.

I wish you all many, many magical moments in 2018.

1000.ORIGINAL-2.jpg

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: ISO 100: 35 mm: f/3.5: 1/50 sec.


1000.ORIGINAL-6.jpg

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: ISO 200: 35 mm: f/5: 1/30 sec.


1000.ORIGINAL-8.jpg

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: ISO 100: 35 mm: f/3.5: 1/50 sec.


1000.ORIGINAL-5.jpg

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: ISO 100: 35 mm: f/3.5: 1/50 sec.


1000.ORIGINAL-3.jpg

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: ISO 200: 35 mm: f/5: 1/30 sec.


T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1.png

Sort:  

Happy New Year to you and yours!

We're still in the middle of busyness here. Lots of birthdays, visitors, New year and Christmas of course. Things won't settle down until Jan 8th!

Beautiful posts as always.Is that frangipani I see there?

Thanks so much Gillian.

It's a wonderful time of the year to catch up with family and friends, once the pre-Christmas 'rush' has settled. Enjoy.

Yes, frangipani is growing everywhere around us at the moment ~ Such an intoxicating fragrance. And one of the flowers in this arrangement that fortunately stood up really well to the heat. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Sweetheart you are one of the most precious souls I have had the pleasure of meeting and you are on the other side of the world to me. I so love your love and compassionate spirit, your desire to be of service to humanity, and your sensitivity to nature and the world you live in. Thank you so much for the compliment on the card readings that you resonate with. I am so happy to be of service to you. May this year bless you in every aspect that the energy of "Abundance" can bring to you. I am so happy you got your mojo back (not that you ever lost it, but regrouped for the new) and look forward to your insights on the different vibes of infinity and eternity.... although I believe I felt them as I typed them. Just sayin love to you and yours

I don't really know how to thank you enough @sunscape. Not just your kind words, but the thoughts and heart felt wishes and belief behind them truly means so much to me ~ Especially at this time. It's wonderful to have developed such a beautiful friendship.

I wish for your new year to be filled with all the blessings the goddess Abundantia can bestow upon you and all the love Venue can give. And the inner space to be able to enjoy each and every moment of this wondrous life we have.

Sending you my first Infinity ~ Made from tiny spiralling shells ~ With much love and gratitude from across the ocean. 🦋

1000.jpg

Long time no see my dear. First of all Happy New Year! As always beautiful flower arrangements and photos!

Thanks so much Di.

I've been trying to juggle Steemit with IG, Tumblr and keeping my own blog going ~ While you've been travelling I see. Absolutely love your images of Uluru. Still on my wish list.

I hope your new year is all you wish it to be. Filled with new places and spaces and the time to really appreciate them. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

I wish you too many fantastic moments during the New Year, Ally! 🤗

Thanks so much Daniel.

Even though we are aware of the craziness and chaos in our world, it's so uplifting for the spirit to greet the New Year with a renewed wave of optimism ~ But in all sobriety.

I've been feeling 'nudges' of creativity more than ever lately and feel that it's not just me ~ But something in the ether for anyone and everyone who wishes to connect with this energy.

So I wish you many happy connections in 2018, with new travel opportunities and much peace in your home overlooked by your friend, the mountain. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

yes the congested traffic makes it really weird.. and last minute shopping is a bit of tension type thing... BTW the photos you posted are really stunning...

Guess, it's pretty much the same in many cities of the world during times of special festivities @itwithsm. In the heat of summer, it becomes almost unbearable, but we keep bearing it somehow.

Really happy you like the photographs. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

yap you are right...

I hope 2018 is your best year yet! Great flower photos BTW!

I have a strong feeling that it's going to be @old-guy-photos

Pleased you like the variations of this arrangement. I tend to like more subdued colour, but I loved the way the deep crimson hibiscus really sang out. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Hope you have a wonderful 2018, dear friend! I have missed all of your lovely words and flowers!

Thanks @resteemer.

Really pleased that you selected 'Summer Beauty' for your initial resteem. 🦋

Thanks ever so much Melinda. I've missed being here too. Trying to juggle too many things I wish to do without becoming a night owl. Been there done that TOO much. And coming to realise that in order to create one ~ Or at least this one ~ Needs to go to sleep early and wake up with the birds.

Blogging at Steemit, I'd neglected my own website and blog too. So I'm reformatting everything I've shared here to suit wordpress. And it's a VERY slow process. I also really love Instagram ~ And have been catching up there as well.

Most importantly I feel that I need the space for new work that I feel is on the brink of pouring out. Have started playing with charcoal and pastel. And love it ~ Always have.

I hope your new year is really creative and filled with much love and harmony Melinda. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Thanks for your sweet good wishes! I enjoy the money I make on Steem far too much to give my efforts away on other sites! Hope you get everything arranged the way you want it!

I love the concept of peer value and one's work being given value.

Earning Steem is a very attractive feature of Steemit that's for sure. In one sense, I don't earn very much in relationship to the time/energy I give to the creation of an article here ~ Although in relationship to what I earn at IG, FB or Tumblr, it's a small fortune.

I have always loved the blog format and the Steemit platform itself. And there are quite a few people here, including you, who I love to connect with. So altogether it's still a very enticing place for me to be. 😊

#photography
continue to experience what you get there try to be told a little

Thanks @nasional

If by 'try to be told a little' you mean be open to inspiration and the guidance of other artists and people who I respect, I most certainly aspire to. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thank you ever so much @pixresteemer.

I wish you wings that can soar to the heights of beauty and awesomeness in 2018.

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

You got free upvote and restreemed from new bot @restreemer
This bot is new and growing.
Upvote this comment
And follow to help him grow.

Thanks @resteemer.

Really pleased that you selected 'Summer Beauty' for your initial resteem. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28