Introduction to Cardmagic

in #magic7 years ago (edited)

Hey there Steemians.

I am going to start a blog about card magic and other forms of magic. This is not about revealing tricks but I would like to introduce the principles of magic step by step.

IMG_1138.JPG

Let me start with this very useful quote: "Sometimes, magic is just someone spending more time on something than anyone might reasonably expect." - Teller

This is very true. Most tricks are just about being some steps ahead of your spectator. Let me give you an example:
If you force a card on someone, he expects that this card is totally random. He doesn't even consider that there is a way to force a card. So you are in a spot where you can let him shuffle the deck like crazy, without even looking and for him the card is lost.
If you want to be even more steps ahead, why not put a duplicate card into your shoe, or in the hoodie of your spectator.

And here another quote that is not as deep but very true: "If you know a force, a control, a palm and a double lift you can do unbelievable miracles." - Harry Lorrayne

Those 4 key principles are the base of every good trick.

I am going to do a separate blog of each of these 4 principles so let me know which one I should tackle first.

IMG_1188.JPG

Another project I would really like to show you is my very first card trick that I learned way back in 2006.

It involves just a simple sleight of hand and is a really great principle to manipulate the choices of your spectator. I will split up the trick; so it is really a step by step instruction and you can try to learn it this way.

I collect cards because there are just so many beautiful decks and I am going to review some of my favorites. This will involve standard decks, decks with some gaff cards, marked decks and of course trick decks. Let me know which kind you would like to see first.

Last but not least, let me introduce some books that should be in the library of every beginner magician.

IMG_1101.JPG

As a magician you have to define your own style of performing. This means don't just copy any routine you find on the internet. Try to adapt and modify it so you can really be yourself when performing.

Personally I mostly choose a theme around science. For example I explain how the card travelled to the top because of the magnetic thermodynamics of my hands. Which is obviously just yunkshit, but this way spectators don't tend to ask how I did it because I already explained it.:-)

To finish this magic intro blog let me tackle the way to answer the ever returning question of "How did you do that?"

My answer to that one is "can you keep a secret?" and when they reply "of course I can" you silence them with "so do I".

Another good one is just a simple "Very well, don't you think so?" And just smile st them. :-)

IMG_1163.JPG

Usually the best way to deal with the “HOW” question is to just ask them if they really want to know because most of the time the question is just spur of the moment because of their amazement.

My personal favorite is to show them a self-working magic routine which I will show you in a future Blog.

Thanks so much for reading through this blog and I really hope you all got something out of it. If you are interested in future blogs, please follow me and up vote this MAGIC INTRO BLOG.

This is not my introducemyself. That one will follow soon.

Thanks again and have a great day Steemians

@Rheteric

Sort:  

Should I do more of these blogs?
Let me know!

Magical post mate!! I thought it was interesting how you used "whalepower" as a tag. I never thought of that. That's smart!! Upvoted and following!!

Hey mate! I hope i didn't made a mistake with that. To be fair, magic is a form of power which every whale should have in his or her repertoire:-)
Thanks for following and upvoting.

Personally I mostly choose a theme around science. For example I explain how the card travelled to the top because of the magnetic thermodynamics of my hands. Which is obviously just yunkshit, but this way spectators don't tend to ask how I did it because I already explained it.:-)

Total genius! Can't wait for your series! :D

Thanks mate!:-) i'll try to make it as funny as informative:)

There is a new part of my series. :-)
Check it out!

fantastic, you got my upvote :) #whalepower

Thank you very much,
I'm glad you liked it!

Great post, thanks for sharing!
Im following you !
Resteeming this to my followers. Hope it helps a little.

Your welcome! Thanks for resteeming. That did a lot, you are great!

Hey mate. I wrote another part to this series.
Check it out.
Cheers!

I did it again! :-)
Check out the newest part of my series!

Great idea! Good Luck!

Thanks a lot.

How fun. Im usually not a fan of magic... but your explanation made it pretty cool. Thank you.

Thank you. This is awesome to hear. Magic is all about fun not making fun of people!:)

Interesting, I'd like to learn more about this. Not sure if it's something I would practice, but i'll follow... have you ever seen the youtube show Scam School? Seems like you'd really enjoy it. They teach all types of tricks n such.

This sounds nice. You know, there are things you don't even have to practise that hard. The simple things can be very powerful aswell.
I love this show! Brian is a real genius and has so many fun things to learn from. I saw really strong magic there aswell as cool riddles.
Thanks for this input.

well, I'll be keeping my eyes open peeled for future posts of yours. It's definitely a cool thing to learn ways to expand everyone's enjoyment of a social function

Love the magic! Would love to learn some, if nothing else than just to amuse my little girl, but I'm rather hamfisted and have the shakes. And dropsy.

I love it too. Of course, I can try to show some easy routines in the future.
You should see me perform some magic. I even shake a little if I show my girlfriend a trick the forth time, lol. But that is normal. There is s guy who made a whole routine about his hamfistednes and it is brilliant. Every weaknes can turn quickly in an advantage if you know where to use it.

Cool post man. I've got a few good card tricks up my sleeve. Ill be following. Follow me back, I'm going to start posting some juggling videos.

Thank you very much. I'll be interested in those tricks, maybe we have the same effects with different plots, which are always nice to know.
I'll follow you of course. I love juggling. I do also tricks with flower/luna/stick which is also a form of juggling.
I'm looking forward to your posts!
Cheers and habe e great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59308.58
ETH 2593.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46