Pleasing Textures & Lines

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)

nasturtium.jpg

i-macro-34.jpg

steemit-posts-20.jpg

i-macro-10.jpg

i-macro-13.jpg

pdx-nov15-16.jpg


When exploring the endlessly fascinating micro universe, I'm often drawn in by the inherent artistry I observe – by the naturally occurring compositions – by the textures and subtle details unseen with the naked eye.

Would that I could shrink myself down, that I may take a nap in a dandelion whilst watching the sun set through nasturtium petals.

Which one is your favorite? Can you guess what each image is a portrait of?


camera: iPhone 5s & 6s
lens: olloclip pro macro 3-in-1, 7-21xmagnification
location: / Portland, Oregon

Sort:  

i like the wet feather. and the crispy curly thing.
AND OF COURSE the first one, those colors <3 <3

Thank you for playing! ;) The beach one – sand and feather – I love that one, too. 'Crispy curly thing' – I'll assume you mean the burs – isn't there something so sweet about how they're reaching for each-other? Like little fingers, curling against the fingertips of another. And YES – the nasturtium. So delicious, right!?

Wow! That's macro magic!
I remember going to see Microcosmos in the cinemas in the 90's and was just blown away! Such a magical world!
Gotta get me one of those iPhone lenses!!!! I've got a fisheye and a cheap macro, but didn't get these kinds of results! That's where your talent shines through!

OMG – that is one of my all time fave movies! The scene with the snails making love – yoooowza. So steamy!

You seriously must play more with your macro lens – get an olloclip. I'm serious! They're such amazing little tools. <3 I've been playing with them since 2012, so...I know how to use 'em! ;)

Love you, Nathan.

Ok, I shall do that for sure!
Mwah!

Wow these are such beautiful pictures! It sure looks like a different world. Absolutely gorgeous - however I can't really seem to figure out what they are, except for the second last which Im guessing is a very dry leaf?

You're right! It's a partially decayed, very dry leaf. The others are: Nasturtium, Burs, Dandelion Puffs, A Feather in Sand and a Seedpod ;)

Oooo, Ok, I had a feeling that one was a dandelion puff actually, but wasn't 100% sure. Hehe, these are so cool though!

Wait... you took these photos on an iPhone?! So cool! I take photos with my phone but don't have any special lenses. I kind of want to look into some now though. Great photos! I would love to be able to take a nap in a dandelion but I am not sure I would want to be small enough to come face to face with an insect though. Reminds me of that movie about the guy that shrunk himself and his kids. Thanks for sharing!
Ivy

Yes...all on an iPhone, using olloclip macro lenses of varying magnifications. • I agree – coming face to face with some insects would be pretty scary of we were the same size. Eeep! But...might be worth it to enjoy the other wonders available to one so very small.

True... well if you ever figure out how to make people small then let me know and I will volunteer!
Ivy

The top three are my favorites, the first one more so because it's so colorful. The fifth one down if I had to guess it would be a bee hive or maybe a leaf.

Yep! Fifth one down is a partially decayed leaf. ;) And the first...that's a nasturtium. So yum!

I see your baby goat made the winners list this week!....congratulations, and his cute little face made the top of the pile!

You have captured so much motion, I feel carried away into those micro-universes. The first photo looks like you were observing the moon from some alien garden. The others have this beautiful antique quality. Great job

Thank you @Zameena-zen! I do enjoy creating compositions that are whimsical. The first one – the nasturtium with the little spot of out-of-focus light – I've always felt like it looks like a sunset.

its almost like you can see the essence of life itself... its not so much credit to your camera but to your amazing eyes!

Thank you, sweet Anka. <3 I am grateful for these eyes of mine – my heart peers through them.

You are a really talent photographer!
Nice job.
Grettings from Venezuela!

Thank you, dear @carlagonz! Much appreciated.

I like photography too, I always say it's a way of life!
Screenshot_20180506-151528.png
I love this flower💕

AND pleasing colors on that first one!

Yes! The title, at first, said Vibrant Colors, Pleasing Textures & Lines. But then...so many of the ones I wanted to include are muted and soft in tone. But I still had to include that first one. ;) I threw in the fuzzy green one in to balance it out – like bright bookends. ;)

ziippy you are amazing on so many levels! Is there anything you are not talented at?? LOVE!

Says YOU! I'm glad you enjoy these, dear Serena. <3

Trust me – there's plenty I'm not good at. If it's creative, I tend to have a knack for it. Just...don't ask me to do anything business related. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48