Thursday: macrophotography - Preying Mantis

This was one of the strangest experiences I've had (in a spooky way).

The night before I actually had a peculiar dream about a preying mantis invading my personal space. I was levitating off the ground and the preying mantis levitated with me much too close...and he was BIG. It startled me so much that I grabbed him by the neck and threw him away from me. Then I wondered if maybe I hurt it so I went to see. There he was laying on the ground dazed and shaking his head - then suddenly he grew rainbow wings and turned into a dragonfly and looked at me as if he was acknowledging my caring.

So, imagine my shock when I went down to our basement and found a preying manits IN MY HOUSE running parallel with me as I walked to go outside. My husband had taken apart our children's train table and it was sitting on its side longways and the mantis was running the length of it with me. Fascinating little creatures...however, the timing of this was a little creepy. He seemed either very friendly or very aggressive. I wasn't really sure. So I ran back upstairs to grab my camera to capture the moment - proof ;) He was still there when I returned with camera in hand. I ran back and forth.... and back and forth he followed me with his arms out stretched. Finally I paused to take some photos and he actually grabbed the lens. Good thing I just got my macro ;) Proof!

I did muster the courage to return him to the wild after our photo session.

pm7BLUE.jpg
I colored him a little bit ;) LOL

pm2.jpg

pm1.jpg

pm5.jpg

Category(macrophotography )
Camera(Nikon D70)
Location(My Basement )

Monday: foodphotography and animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: architecturalphotography and vehiclephotography
Thursday: macrophotography and colourfulphotography
Friday: streetphotography and portraitphotography
Saturday: sportsphotography and smartphonephotography
Sunday: goldenhourphotography and longexposurephotography
These contests are curated and sponsored by @juliank

Sort:  

Hello. Found you through @asapers. Great post. I'm not sure if I enjoyed the photos or the story the most. Wonderful combination and the photo with the color change is amazing. Nice work.

Thank you, @energyaddict22. Yes, a little bleed through from dream-time to waking. So glad you liked my little color job on him - it was so interesting how the color brought out the details of his form - almost like an x-ray.

Congratulations @youhavewings, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 34

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Second each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

THANK YOU! What a surprise to wake up to this news this morning. I upvoted and will continue to support and resteem your efforts to help newbies.

Hi @youhavewings! This is such a cool post...I love the story and the photo is amazing ;) I curate for @asapers and see you are a new member. I'm going to pass your post on in the hopes it makes it in our READ ME ASAP newsletter ;) Keep your eyes out for it; @insideoutlet always posts the latest edition in our Discord channel.

Hi @lynncoyle1! THANK YOU and thank you for all the support you give daily to us newbies.

So happy that you liked the mantis story and photo- I truly had second thoughts about posting it ;) So your comment gives me a little courage to share more. Thank you!

I see that @insideoutlet and I have some common life experience as my mother has ileitis and Crohns (as so many now have) - she seems like a courageous and wonderful person.

I'll see if I can find the ASAPers Discord channel. :)

Have a beautiful day!

Awww shucks. Thank you. Crohns is very debilitating. Welcome to @asapers, I look forward to getting to know you better. 😁

Yes, very debilitating.

Thank you! I so look forward to getting to know you better, too.

You are pretty awesome you know! In case no one has told you yet today :)

Right back at you x

You are so welcome @youhavewings! I appreciate your kind words too!

I did like the mantis story, and if I can offer any advice, it would be to add more stories to your beautiful photos, like you did with this one. I think it can offer so much more than a photo alone ;)

@insideoutlet is pretty awesome for sure!

Looking forward to seeing more of you on Discord and out here. Cheers!

@lynncoyle1 Thank you, again. Advise taken and will try to do that. :)

We'll talk more on Discord :) THANK YOU!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by youhavewings from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #macrophotography

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 03:36:36
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 120.90/200.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a neat story, and there he was, just waiting for his picture to be taken. Pretty cool.

Thank you so much, @bashadow! It was a pretty cool experience.

This is such a cool post! I love praying mantises. I have a picture of one that was on my patio table umbrella a couple years back. Wish I could find it - I swear he was dancing to the music I had on 😊

@ambrosial Thank you. Mantises are fascinating. I completely believe you when you say he was dancing to the music :) That is very cool! Hope you find your photos.

I love the way you turned the mantis into an alien in the first picture.
It' very expressive and funny :D

It was fun to color him ;) And he does resemble an alien.

Hi @youhavewings! This is a really cool post!! The last image gives me chills!! Those piercing eyes! What an experience to have!! Oh my! Congratulations on having your post selected by the #asapers 💗 Good for you!! Keep up the great contributions!

Thank you so much, @yogajill! Yes, he really does have that piercing look - that's why I colored him! :)

You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90