PERUVIAN LILIES

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)

The Peruvian Lily, or Lily of the Incas, is a beautiful perennial that comes in a wide range of colours including purple, red, salmon, yellow, orange, white and pink. Florists will often use these Lilies in their bouquets because of their beauty. They are fairly easy to grow and need a fair bit of space, because they can become invasive. They were introduced to Europe in the 18th centuary by Swedish botanist Baron Von Alstroemeria, which explains their scientific name which is Alstroemeria.

I love the look of these exotic flowers, especially the freckled patterns they have on their inside petals. The photos below are of the 'Saturne' Peruvian Lily, that has gorgeous coral-pink flowers, with dark burgundy freckles or streaks, and yellow in the centre.

20180906_134821.jpg

20180906_134827~2.jpg

20180906_134810~2.jpg

Photos and content by white.tiger

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-06T11:02:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 881.00/200.00
Total Photos: 143
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Pretty! I'm always wary of growing lilies with cats around, so many of them are toxic

Yes, there are so many toxic plants, and some cats like to chew on the leaves.

I don't think I've ever seen pinkish kinda lilies before, this one is gorgeous, it reminds me of tiger lily my grandma grows.

Thankyou, they are unusual looking.😊

:D Ohh... I live in Perú <3 And also your cat´s name is Inca.... Whats your connection with Perú? On your profile it says you´re from Australia :)

Yes I am an Aussie, but my mum is Peruvian, so I grew up with the language, culture and food, which I really love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76