My Citrus Swallowtail Butterfly is about to Break from its Chrysalis!!

Citrus_swallowtail_Christmas_butterfly_(Princeps_papilio_demodocus)_04.jpg

About four months ago, I ecstatically shared with you that I had discovered the larva of a Citrus Swallowtail butterfly on my lemon tree. I carefully placed the caterpillar in a container with enough air vents, water and lemon leaves. I watched over a few days as its movements slowed down and it spun a wonderful chrysalis as it transformed into its pupa stage.

And then I stressed. According to my research, they usually spend 5 - 10 weeks in that stage before the butterfly appears. Mine was taking months and I was worried it had died. We were in the dead of winter though, and further research revealed that a pupa may decide to prolong its stay if the weather is too cold and wait for the warmth of spring.

And now spring is here with the spring equinox fast approaching at the end of this month. And still, there was no sign that the pupa was alive. I looked around at the place I had placed it to rest. There was sun coming in, but it was diluted by a veil curtain and by the shadows of my bonsais. So I thought, maybe the pupa hasn't realise it is spring because it is so dark and cold.

I moved the pupa to the window sill and sprayed the wings to make sure they don't dry out (which is what the internet said I should do). It has been three days now and wow, what a transformation!! The wings are so clear through the chrysalis now and you can clearly see the patterns of the Citrus Swallowtail forming!

Citrus1.jpg

citrus2.jpg

Of course, I know I cannot keep it. Once it does emerge, I will open a window so it can leave the warmth of its home and be free to locate my garden in the front and find some food and water. It will be sad to see it go, but that is the sweet sorrow of protecting and nurturing life: sometimes you need to let them go.

I am hoping I will see it in its butterfly form for one last photo before it leaves me.



Header Image: Wikipedia

Other images are mine: ©2018 Shaun M Jooste


Please support my work by subscribing for FREE to one of the following:

Silent Hill Obversion Banner

Malum Newsletter banner

Patreon banner


@shadowolfdg is a punkstiny.png SteemPunk and Steemit article Mentor for @schoolofminnows

Member of @teamsouthafrica

Post of the Day Award - @adsactly

Official Promoter for @tpot -- join our discord channel


Kind regards

Shaun M Jooste

Joint-Owner: AIR Entertainment (https://airentertainment.biz)
Director: Celenic Earth Publications (https://celenicearthpublications.wordpress.com)
Author, Screenwriter, Gamewriter, Journalist (https://celenicearth.wordpress.com)

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-05T07:01:21
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 166.10/200.00
Total Photos: 26
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

@shadowolfdg what a fantastic story and the best thing about it is that you had the sense to set it free once it's ready. It clearly spells out what we at Papillon (Butterfly) are trying to do with the poor! Blessings!

Congratulations @shadowolfdg! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84