Iridescent Long Legged Flies - Dolichopus spp - The Gardeners Friend

in #macrophotography7 years ago (edited)

These beautiful Long Legged Flies reflect sunlight with ever changing colours, one moment green, the next moment yellow, red or orange. They are a very welcome sight to gardeners as they prey on thrips, aphids and spider mite as well as larvae of various insects.
They are extremely beneficial and extremely attractive and their elaborate dance behaviour on leaves can be rather fun to watch too. I love taking photos of them but they jump incredibly fast if the flash goes off on the camera so one needs good sunlight to capture them at their shiniest and best.

26227072_Unknown.JPG

26227776_Unknown.JPG

These were taken using my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS

Namaste

Do not seek love. Be Love.

Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev

Sort:  

yes, this fly has long legs, beautiful and detailed

Nice photography, good job, have a good night!) I really love it !

Thank you very much for your support and kind words

It is so beautiful and awesome photography i also love photography to check my workplease visit to my blog thanks

Thanks very much for your nice comment, yes I will check your blog

thanks for visiting to my blog

Can you also check out my site ?

Nice Pic's too ;)

Wow!! This long leg flies really reflect lightswitgout changing colors.. And also are really fast.. This is so amazing and beautiful.. Next time be fast in taking them before the fly off lol.. Thanks for the post

Thanks for our great comment

Its really beautiful photography. I love these photos. Good post.

I'm usually not too fond of flies (Diptera in general), but these are gorgeous <3 Where did you find them? I think I've seen flies with alike bodies, I don't remember their family, though.

just wow. that looks great

Those are some interesting looking flies! Its crazy how their colors change so easily like that.

Wow. Nice picture. Bravo...
i like your post..

You got a 3.61% upvote from @upme requested by: @sallybeth23.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59774.28
ETH 2422.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44