colorchallenge--Monday Red--Dragon's Blood Stonecrop succulent

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)

#colorchallenge -- Monday: RED

Dragon's Blood Stonecrop


click to open image larger

steemit-HR-01.png

Some backstory on where I found these beauties

There is a great little cafe that serves some of the best sandwiches in Eugene, OR. A little place called Cornucopia. After birth of my youngest two daughters, all I craved was their Wade's Smoky Club sandwich. Slow roasted turkey, smoked Gouda, bacon, mayo & Romaine on Pugliese bread - but I switch out the mayo for ranch. Mmmm....

During a trip to Cornucopia a few weeks ago to get a fix... errr, um... to pick up a sandwich; I was surprised to see these little red flower things in a pot outside the front door. I took a picture with my iPhone and continued on my way. Today, I did a little detective work to figure out what they are: Dragon's Blood Stonecrop.


steemit-HR-01.png

This plant is a succulent and their leaves are a brilliant red during the cooler months of the year. The leaves change to green during the summer and bright purple/red flowers emerge. I can't wait to see what this looks like in the summer! This must have been a recent addition to their planter outside the shop, because all the images I found on the internet show large patches of leaves and you couldn't see the stems at all.

Thanks for stopping by! What have you seen recently on one of your outings?

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 04:22:31
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 58.75/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64