Upclose with a Jackson's Chameleon: #Macrophotography

in #macrophotography7 years ago (edited)

DSCF2628 (3).jpg

What Shocks the Virtuous Philosopher
Delights the Chameleon Poet

-John Keats

Can you imagine, a place with invasive chameleon so abundant you could very possibly be hit in the head with one falling from a tree?

In Hawai'i chameleon are not native meaning they did not naturally evolve with the native ecosystem therefore other than birds, they have no #natural predators. Because of this, their numbers have gotten a little out of control in some locations making them considered an invasive species.

Their presence alone has caused many like my mother-in-law a great deal of anguish. Thankfully I am rather fond of these stealthy little reptiles so you won't find me killing any of these #creatures simply because they are considered invasive. Though, I was rather surprised when one landed on my windshield one day while I was taking a leisurely drive through a residential area.

I did keep one as a #pet at one point but sadly I was lacking in my ability to catch crickets and properly care for the little guy and he didn't last very long. After that experience it was clear for me, they are better off enjoyed out doors where they are free to roam... that is if you aren't scared of them. I found this little guy in my potted #garden foraging on the bugs that might try to nibble on my baby #avocado tree so for me, he was quite the little helper!

Interestingly, the females are dark brown, black, and gray in color and are rather grouchy! They are definitely not as fun to catch or let crawl on you which seems to work out since they aren't as #vibrant or #colorful either. If you happen to find a male sometime, grab them closer to their shoulders and head and then place them on your arm to give them a little freedom to crawl on you. Their little nails can be a little pokey so long sleeves are best for those with sensitive skin. If you grab them too tightly or near their hind legs and tail they will sometimes whip back and try to take a bite.

Being a wild animal, they can be a little touchy but just take a deep breath, stay calm and be as gentle as you can. Just remember to steer clear of the dark females who lack horns because they are always trying to take a bite! After you have had enough of your #chameleon #adventure return them to a nice tree with bark they can climb up, they #love that!

I have always rather enjoyed picking up the males with their triceratops like horns, definitely a modern-day mini dinosaur! When I find one I try to make it a point to show my #kids how to gently handle them. I feel it helps them develop a better relationship with nature and animals.

I hope you enjoyed reading my post and thanks for taking a look at my #macrophotography entry for #photocontests by @juliank

#travel #animals #nature #photography #steem #steemit #life #busy #blog #minnow #colorful #fun #adventure #reptiles #chameleon #writing #story

Sort:  

You should check out @ginabot, and sign up to get more out of steemit.

Very good work, hope you will continue it. I've seen :)

Oh that is so sad :-( thank you for bringing this to my awareness. Is this part of what you do? I noticed the paypal account at the end dankh007 was very close to your username is this a family you help raise money for? Either way thank you for caring!

yes that is my paypal , since they cant open paypal over there so i just use mine.

hey Janelle, it kane. this is technically my wife's steemit. just up voted the line. having fun?

Yea its been pretty good. The recent slump in currency value is sad but I guess its not always going to go up. I'm sure the people that started when it was really small feel differently....

My wife got this account. you might want to look into making another, just need another phone line

I'm alright, 1 is plenty for me :-)

Sad☹ It seems the @photocontests bot is down again. I will probably post this again next week under #macrophotography since I didnt get the upvote bot response..

Actually it appears I must have missed the window to enter... oh well I will post this one again next week. ☺

I help raise money for everyone over there, since they cant open paypal over there

Oh I had no idea. When I saw that, even though for US standards my family lives in poverty I feel like I live pretty nice and comfortably when I see a story like theirs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23