MAHONIA NERVOSA - OREGON GRAPE

The Mahonia Nervosa, otherwise known as the Oregon Grape grows abundantly up here in the Northwest. I originally mistook this plant for Mountain Laurel, as they look similar. Where I hike, it literally covers the forest floor and also on our property.
IMG_4205.jpeg

It is extremely common in second growth forests as it makes use of the pools of sunlight that make their way to the ground through those trees. It is described an evergreen shrub with short stems about 12" in length. The leaves resemble holly in looks and are low shine to dull looking. In the spring, they bloom yellow flowers that become a small blue looking fruit that reminds me more of a small blue berry, but also could be called miniature grapes. They tend to be somewhat low growing.

IMG_4207.jpeg

They can turn to a red or burgundy in late summer and fall. I have seen some stay this way year round. They make for nice eye candy while hiking. I have also used them in Christmas wreathes before and they make a great addition to holiday decorating.

I hope you've enjoyed this. Please don't forget to upvote and resteem! And as always, have a nice day! :)

Sort:  

Awesome Photo!! Now I'm really want to see the bloom of this plant, especially with its fruit bearing in the likeness of blue berries!!

I looked through my pics for a spring version, but didn't seem to have one unfortunately. Stay tuned......maybe in the spring!

Awesome I'm on it! Can't wait!!

Cool photos, but its not macro ✌️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55