Busy Bees In Action

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)

I enjoy watching bees going about their work. They all have a single focus, and not much gets in the way of them getting the job done. If you do get in the way, you'll know all about it in good time. Even though they are busy getting on with their own work, the knock on effect of their work is hugely beneficial to the surrounding environment.

I haven't had too many opportunities to try to photograph them, but a few years ago we were at a winery, and the bees were hard at work in the flowerbed near where we were picnicing, so I decided to try and get a good shot or 2.

Many, many shots later, I managed to get this one, which looks a bit out of focus to me, and I can't really tell if I was too long or too short.
bee 100_1650.JPG

A good few minutes later, and another whole bunch of bad shots, a managed to get one of a bee on a lavendar plant, holding onto one of the tiny flowers and collecting her reward.

bee 1 100_1675.JPG

I think I got the focus almost right on this one, which was difficult with the flower swaying slightly in the breeze. You can see the bee in pretty good detail here. This one is probably the best I've taken of a such a small moving target.

I certainly didnt want to get too close to the busy bee, in case I became a target of its nasty little barb!!

A few bad shots later I left to get on with their work in peace.

Inhave since upgraded to a better camera, so wouldn't mind having another go at this when spring returns.





Team Australia, Team South Africa, and The Alliance banners by @bearone

My Awesome Upboks by @ryivhnn

Sort:  

That second photo’s really cool - I love the perspective you get from looking at small animals closely

Thanks @bec-on-the-block. I like how it came out too. There's a lot we can learn just by watching how these little critters go about their business for sure.

Bruv WOWOWWOWOW I can't but help my bee fetish is rubbing off on others.. hehe nice one mate I am loving this! Am I imagining things or is that black pollen? I was amazed to see my recent pics with red pollen but black on the back legs ? Incredible. Do more of these for sure, loving it. Cheer$;)

Thanks bro! I'm no bee expert, but I'd say these bees were just coming in on empty legs. I may be wrong and you may be onto something there though.

If you look at the top pic his back left leg at the top? That looks like Pollen, compare it to the other pic who has none. I think so anyways :)

Cheer$;)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-02T09:26:33
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 63.30/100.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

wonderful!
follow you is a good choice!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82