Focus Stacked Macro #25 - Basic steps tutorial.

in #macro6 years ago


A summary of the basic steps to create a focus stacked image using Capture One and Zerene Stacker software packages. Instrctions below after main image.


I love creating focus stacked images. For me it has the same magical appeal as when we had to develop our photos using film - you don't know how the final image will turn out and you have a direct impact on how you want it to look.

There is a lot of addition effort involved, compared to taking a single shot image but I believe in the right situation it's really worth it.

In my opinion, focus stacking is most useful when shooting landscape or macro photography.

Here I will give a very brief summary on how I create a focus stacked macro image.


Click/tap image to view at 100%
2018-02-06-20.19.20 ZS retouched 1.jpg


After shooting my raw images at varying focus depths using my Olympus E-M5II camera I import them into Capture One. The image below shows the imported images ready for export to Zerene Stacker.


Capture1.JPG


Here is Zerene Stacker doing its magic!


Capture2.JPG


Edit the image in Zerene Stacker to get the best from its two stacking methods


Capture3.JPG


Export from Zerene Stacker back into Capture One to do the final adjustments below


Capture4.JPG


I plan to post some more detailed tutorials in the coming weeks if anyone is interested.


Feel the Love
@brianhphotos

Sort:  

I plan to post some more detailed tutorials in the coming weeks if anyone is interested.

Please do it, @brianhphotos. People will rarely see you after one post. When you make a series of tutorials, you will be seen. Upv, follow&restm.

I will. Thanks for the encouragement.

Super interested in more content like this!
That flower is amazing, makes me feel like im looking through an insects eyes :-)

Very interesting, thanks for the info! Looking forward to future tutorials!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80