HAMMER TIME!

in #machining6 years ago (edited)
I've mentioned previously that my father worked as a "Tool and Die Maker" most of his life, which meant that he was good at working metal to make things. He could make "tools" for various purposes, "dies" to attach to machinery for production of items at the factory where he worked, and he could repair the machinery, tools, and dies when they eventually wore-out from use. His work often involved precision that measured in the thousandth-part of an inch. (Imagine splitting a single inch into a thousand slices!)

Sometimes, he would work on a special, personal project with scraps of metal that were to be discarded. He always asked for the scraps first, though, to be sure it was okay for him to use them, and he ONLY worked on those personal projects on his own time (such as during his lunch break). Many times, his project was something useful around the house, such as a more sturdy "potato peeler" for Mom than what could be purchased in stores, or a new blade for a knife when one had broken.

He made the occasional trinket, though, such as adorable little hammers. They were too small, of course, for any serious use, but were amazing examples of his ability to do precise work.

Hammers--a.jpg
photo by me

Mom kept one with her sewing items as a keepsake, which then ended up in my possession when she gave me her sewing machine and associated sewing accoutrements. Dad made it with such precision that the head unscrews from the handle and neatly screws back on! The handle is also knurled, as a full-sized hammer might be, for more secure gripping. (The hammer show in the following details is № 3 in the above photo.)

Hammer-1.jpg
Hammer-duo-1-Left.jpgHammer-duo-1-Right.jpg
Hammer-duo-2-Left.jpgHammer-duo-2-Right.jpg

photos by me

The smallest hammer in the first photo, designated as № 1, is shown here with a U.S. penny coin (0.75 inch ≈ 19 mm) as a size comparison:

Hammer-smallest.jpg
photo by me

And another view of the same miniature hammer, zoomed-in to show the detail:

Hammer-small-2.jpg
photo by me

I will probably share more items which my father made in future posts, but these little hammers are so special and unique! 😊

elegantPINK-1769669_1280.png

TKG-steemitBanner.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-03.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

Sort:  
Not sure if
Or

Has to be the first LOL. Love it.

Oh those are so cool! I hope you do share more stuff your dad made. You are totally right, very impressive level of detail on these lil' hammers!

I love these stories about the family. It says so much about a person, how he treats the memory of his loved ones. Touching and worthy of the highest praise of the history.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

cutest hammers ever, your father sounds like a very creative man.

How cool. That is a fun little thing for your father to have done, and makes for an interesting story. That teeny-tiny one is amazing!

It's sweet and touching you keep the craft info alive and I honestly can say I have never seen a hammer so small and dare I say..cute ;)
b.a.

These are so incredible - so much detail on something so tiny! Lovely share your Father was obviously a very talented man indeed.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

How odd...I have one just like that from my grandfather. No idea where he got it, as I never even met him. It's bigger than the smallest you have, but smaller than my hand.

Look at them tiny things!!! I want to see an ant making a house with them XD

So cute and although not overly practical still well worth keeping. I was surpried at just how tiny the smallest one was. I'm amazed at the things I stumble on thanks to @steemitbloggers. A fun group to be part of indeed. My condolances on the loss of your father last year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61760.04
ETH 3379.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52