You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Machine Learning on a Cancer Dataset - Part 28

in #machine-learning7 years ago

Extremely interesting @cristi! I looked into a summer research project modeling brain tumor growth. But I wasn't allowed to due to a lack of ethics training and obtainable data. I'm just wondering what your position on developing a machine-learning model to help predict tumor growth is?

Sort:  

I think it would be difficult, but approachable...

I agree, it is definitely approachable, I like to think very achievable. But the problem with coming up with a prediction for tumor growth for some patient 'A' is that your algorithm might be structured correctly and work great but the data you've/I/we used is biased and therefore 'A' wouldn't receive an inaccurate prediction as to how much their tumor might grow. Consequentially 'A' could be given treatment that is too heavy and unnecessary or too low and ineffective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66161.28
ETH 3556.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14