Thoughts on Dweezilla 2017 and The Others of Intention...

in #m7 years ago (edited)

Last winter and spring I'd decided to put forward my small inheritance from my Keeney Grandfather who passed in 08, drop my career in academia as I can't stand what I'm seeing in our schools, and move forward in music professionally. This wasn't a huge jump for me as I've been playing guitar since the age of 13 along with other instruments...

Purchasing my plane ticket and the one to Full Moon Resort up in NY state, I had no idea what I was getting myself in to. Even the plane rides were strange, I sat next to bombastic astrologers who didn't appreciate my anarchic nature and also I sat next to the guy who delivered the news to G W Bush that the twin towers were under attack.

Flying in to La Guardia, I immediately departed to my cousins house in upper Manhattan for a few evenings prior to Dweezilla which was located in upstate near Woodstock. Manhattan was okay, being a country and island guy from Colorado and the Florida Keys, I can't say I'm a huge fan of cities, they frighten me. I basically spent my time at my cousins house locked in her apartment and reorienting my luggage to what I'd be taking up to Woodstock. I packed entirely too much as just after dweezilla, I'd be heading straight to Sicily for more musical and mental endeavors.

Waking up the soggy morning of camp, I had to wake up rather early and catch a cab down to the Port Authority bus terminal for a ticket up to Woodstock image

Camp started at 3 pm, I had to take a cab up from Woodstock to the Moonlight Resort where I met the lovely driver Mary. The camp went for about 5 days with a final concert up in Poughkeepsie.

image

image

All I can say about it in retrospect is this- being a guy who is as disturbed as I am; Dweezil Zappa, his band, and the many lifelong friends I met up that way saved my life.

I hope to make Dweezilla at Full Moon Resorts a regular annual ritual!

Sort:  

Congratulations @mistermatimadcap! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66