Viessmann World Cup Nationcup Men's Singles 2019/2020

in #luge5 years ago

There are a lot of winter sport events going on this period but unfortunately I don't have time for everything. Yesterday being Sunday I had the chance to watch the 1st Run of the Viessmann World Cup Nationcup, Luge Men's Singles 2019/2020 which took place in Lillehammer, Norway.

As I was saying in one of my previous posts, while watching these sport events I'm trying to imagine myself doing these sports. There are a few I would try out but then there are others I would never try out and luge is one of them. It's a scary sport to say the least. It's very dangerous.

800px-Lillehammer_Olympic_Bobsleigh_and_Luge_Track_map.svg.png
source

This is the track the competition took place at. Look at those turns and imagine all the track is made of ice. Athletes sometimes can reach a speed like 131 km/h. It is scary just by watching, let alone competing. At that speed a mistake can be fatal.

There were fatal accidents in the past but fortunately the Sundays event went pretty well. There were a few athletes making small mistakes that led to losing some advantage and speed but nothing more. Of course some of them got some bruises in the process as even touching the track sides at that speed can hurt.

Anton Dukach the 25 year old Ukrainian overturned, the slope had to be cleaned as there were a few pieces left on the slope so the race was stopped. It was scary to say the least but fortunately he didn't get hurt, however I guess he got a few bruises.

image.png
source

This is how things stand after the first run. Congratulations are in order for these guys. There were two Romanians in the competitions but unfortunately they could not come close to the top places. Valentin Cretu came 14th and the other athlete, Teodor Tulea came 24th. I hope next time they can get a better place.

Even though I watched the event from the start to the beginning, can't say it was 100% fun. The cameras were placed so we can see them competing but sometimes the high speed and unexpected camera changes scared me. I don't think I'm going to become a fan any time soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74