Odin - colored pencil drawing - Learn to Draw with Friends

in #ltdwf7 years ago

Highly revered God in Germanic and Norse Mythology, Odin then became an important character of comic books, where he is the father of Thor and Loki , that fight each other to win his throne.

odin.jpg

I made an animated Gif to have a overview of the process:

odin1.gif

By observing the proportions of Odin's body, his Head to Body ratio in comic books is about 1:6. making him look very muscular and thick but a bit stocky and old, probably to emphasize the difference between his young and tallson , Thor, that has a Head to body ratio about 1:9.

odin1.jpg

I later decided to change the original proportions and make him look taller, he's a God you know:

odin2.jpg

I then gave a tone to the figure:

odin3.jpg

And then with the eraser I went over the light spots:

odin4.jpg

Later I started applying colors, following the original comic book book example. I must say I used yellow ochre almost every where as a base color.

odin5.jpg

Very intersting for me was doing the various reflections in his metal armature: metal reflects light and shadows in very straight lines.

odin6.jpg

This guy has a lot of details and shadows on him, I missed a few, I even changed the shape of the Horns on his hemlet, but I finally finished the drawing.

odin.jpg

This picture is my entry for the intermediate level of the Leran to Draw with Friends - Week 6 - contest. Here iss the link:

https://steemit.com/art/@tonyr/learn-to-draw-with-friends-week-six-vikings-guest-judge-w0olf-sbd-prizes-to-be-won

Please go and see all the entries and th contestants and vote for your favourite ones.

Thank you for the support.

Sort:  

Dude this is awesome, I always have trouble drawing arms that are the right proportions. Any tips?

If your character, normal adult, is standing upright , the hands finish at about half thigh level.
The arms ,from shoulder to hand ,are about the length of 4 heads.
These are some tips that may help you.

Incredible drawing. Thanks for sharing. I especially liked the gif of the process from start to finish.

Nice content @giuatt07 thankx for sharing

Hope I can draw it too! I need more practice I guess. :)

Hola me gusto mucho tu dibujo tienes mi voto te invito a que veas el mio y me des tu opinion saludos

Slide21.JPG

Pintura en acuarela – “Daenerys Targaryen” Game Of Thrones by @romulexx

11.png
Si te gusto este post no lo dudes mas
VOTA – FOLLOW – RESTEEM – COMENTA

@romulexx


Another fantastic post @giuatt07. Thanks so much for your entry this week my friend. Things are a little slow for entries so far this week but I hope we have some late entries. :)

Have a great day my friend! :)

Nice colored pencil drawing @guiatt07 Keep up the good work.

I wish my talent were like yours

Don't worry, practice makes perfect.
The more you draw, the better you get.

Everyday drawings and I try to do well;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99