Floki the Viking - colored pencil drawing - Learn to Draw with Friends

in #ltdwf7 years ago

Hrafna-Flóki Vilgerðarson was the first Viking in History to sail to Iceland. This historic figure then inspired Floki, one of the main characters of the canadian TV series "Vikings".

floki.jpg

I made an animated GIF so you can see an overview of the process:

flokigif.gif

Taking a look of Floki's proportions in this pose, his left hand falls a little lower then the 2 heads line.
His eyes are lower than the head's middle line ( like they normally should be in a straight frontal view) because he is tilting his head toward us while he is staring us.

floki1.jpg

Then I drew all the outlines. In this picture I am going to attempt to draw the village behind him and the reflection in the water.

floki2.jpg

Then I put some tone on the entire picture to see how it would come out. I used the eraser to get the light parts, and I went over the shadows with darker pencils.

floki3.jpg

And now I start applying sone base color. I have to be carefull not to put too much on the village in the background, to get a "fade away" effect, and to put the main focus on the character.

floki4.jpg

I continue applying layers over layers of colors. Cheap colored pencils aren't the fastest or easiest way to color a picture, so take your time and have courage.

floki5.jpg

Finally I had a little of fun experimenting with the reflections of the plants and grass on the water. I could have spent more time on the water and its reflections, but I decided to stop here.

floki6.jpg

A little touch-ups with the black pencil to encrease the contrast in the picture, and I'm done.

floki.jpg

This picture is my entry for the advanced level of the Learn to Draw with Friends - Week 6 - contest. Here is the link:

https://steemit.com/art/@tonyr/learn-to-draw-with-friends-week-six-vikings-guest-judge-w0olf-sbd-prizes-to-be-won

Please go and see all the entries and the contestants and vote for your favourite ones.

Thank you for the support.

Sort:  

Radnor!!!! If I wanted you dead I would have killed you by now!!

Fantastic art work, and love the Vikings show 👍 nice work 👏

Really great drawing and a perfect WIP post! Wish u good luck! ;) Resteemed!

Very nice post and interesting, I am very interested in this post and happy to see it, hopefully you succeed, thanks fo

It's very good. I might not know much about drawing, but I love Floki.

I absolutely love this series and have mad respect for your talent. Thank you for sharing!

Brilliant drawing of Floki, and a really good guide to the execution of the method. I really liked the Vikings series.
Excellent post.

One word, AMAZING great talent!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47