Crash Bandicoot pencil drawing - Learn to Draw with Friends Tutorial

in #ltdwf7 years ago

Today we will draw the main character of one of the biggest game series for the PlayStation:

Crash Bandicoot

bandicott.jpg

Don't get fooled by the cartoonish smile of this aussie bandicoot wearing gym shoes, he's full of little details and not so easy to draw.

The first step we have to do some math and get the proportions right.

We could use the grid tecniquegrid.jpg

But this time we will save some time and divide the image in simple geometric shape.
This is a tecnique used by many professional artists, especially who draw cartoons, to make it easier and faster to draw the same character many times.

Here's an example I hope you can recognize:

mickey1.jpg

In this case, I would say Crash is about 4 circles in height, and 5 circles in width, his face and hair take up about 2 circles.

bandicoot1.jpg

Note: I drew the circles darker so you could see them, they should be light and easy to erase. Extra measuring is needed to be sure everything is in the right place.

bandicoot2.jpg

And if everything seems correct, let's add some details and some tone to the image:

bandicoot3.jpg

Now let's use the eraser to get some light points as reference and we'll start adding some light color:

bandicoot4.jpg

Let's add some more color, trying to use circles rather than straight lines, in the hope of covering the paper under it the best way possible:

bandicoot5.jpg

Next we will mix various colors ( like orange with red or yellow) and we will use the eraser and the pencil to create the light and shadows over the color.

bandicoot6.jpg

Thanks for your attention and see you next time!!!

Sort:  

I like the output. Nice one.

Not sure why this was flagged, but I have countered it now, so it should be visible.

I found out it was drago18121996.
I would like to know the reason why.......but I probably know.
Pure Envy.

Not sure myself why this was flagged @giuatt07. :(

You have made an excellent process post here my friend and given an invaluable lesson to anyone wanting to learn how to go about drawing such a difficult image as the one I provided. You have a great amount of skill my friend. Thank you so much for taking part in the contest again and I hope if you try the advanced image of Ryu you will find it an easier task than this one. :)

Well explained tutorial.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84