Optimus Prime! - Color Pencil drawing - "Learn to Draw with Friends" Art ConteststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #ltdwf7 years ago

Hello Steemians


The Strong and Intelligent leader 'Optimus Prime'!
When I was a kid, I was very interested in robots, especially transformation robots. I would collect stickers, toys, posters etc. Hence, when I saw this option for this week's art contest it really brought back memories. Therefore, I made sure to make some time to enter this art contest.

"Learn To Draw With Friends" Art Contest by @tonyr is back this week with the theme:
'Back To The 80's!'
The link to the contest is shown below:


https://steemit.com/ltdwf/@tonyr/learn-to-draw-with-friends-week-7-art-contest-for-all-ability-levels-this-weeks-theme-back-to-the-80-s


For those who are not familiar with it:

Essentially, tonyr provides 3 pictures in the contest link (along with the image credits). There are Amazing Art works on the contest, and you can either submit one of your drawings or vote on other participants' drawings. In addition to that there is a great initiative, so do try to join the contest and support @tonyr and his new initiative.

For the 1st entry, I have attempted the Intermediate option "Optimus Prime!"
(referring to the picture shown in the link above)

I was really looking forward to draw this entry.
Hope that you like it.


Optimus Prime




I had fun drawing. Although it took more time than I expected, I was happy that I made time for this.


These are the pencil and color pencils that I used to complete the drawing


Below are some Close-Ups of the drawing:


Thought it would be interesting to incorporate the hashtag of the contest and my username somewhere in the drawing




The bottom part of the drawing



Here is an animated gif of the drawing process


OPTIMUS PRIME ANIMATED GIF




Here are some progress pictures


To start off, I began a rough sketch in pencil.



There was a lot more detail required for this option then I had expected and this part took a long time. However, it was fun to see the drawing forming shape after a while.


And then some fine tuning


The pencil drawing is almost ready


Once the pencil drawing is complete. I start using color pencils



The color in method that I go with is to outline the areas of the drawing in the color that will form the most part of that particular area. For example the colour that forms most part of Optimus Prime's arms seems to be a red color, hence I would outline Optimus Prime's arms in red initially.

When the outline of colour is completed, I would then make use of more shades of the particular color and other colors to color in the drawing. For example, I would now use different shades of red to bring out the shading effect.

I had a limited selection of color pencils, and I had to use two of my color pencils to bring out a third color effect, which was interesting to experiment with and a fun learning experience with the mixture of colors.


Here the top part of the drawing is almost done. I took a break now because it took me more time than expected.
A break is necessary in drawing as it allows me to have a refreshed mind when I return.

continue to coloring in...


Almost there...




And this is it:




Thanks for reading my post and hope that you like it.



If you like this post, please upvote, resteem, follow and comment.

Thanks for your time and have a great day!



Sort:  

My childhood character. Man I missed watching Transformers. And the artwork is awesome! :)

Thanks @tiamaria for your kind words and support! Have a great day!

This is super :)
Great effort! both the drawing and the post.

oh and good luck in the contest.

Thanks @analogmunky for your kind words and support! Have an awesome day!

I usually don't like the color pencils...but here the piece is great.

Thanks @vitalamda for your support! Glad that you like it. Have a great day!

Hi, I decided to support the #contest. I will follow you. With me apvote

Thanks @cranium for your support! I really appreciate it. Have a wonderful day!

Very coool...!!!

Thanks @saleg25. Glad that you also find robots cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71