E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial is ready to "Learn to Draw with Friends" - drawing in pencilsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ltdwf7 years ago

Hello Steemians


This is my entry into the "Learn To Draw With Friends" Art Contest by @tonyr.
The theme for this week's contest is:
'Back To The 80's!'
The link to the contest is below:


https://steemit.com/ltdwf/@tonyr/learn-to-draw-with-friends-week-7-art-contest-for-all-ability-levels-this-weeks-theme-back-to-the-80-s


For those who are not familiar with it:

Essentially, tonyr provides 3 pictures in the contest link (along with the image credits). There are Amazing Art works on the contest, and you can either submit one of your drawings or vote on other participants' drawings.

For this entry, I have attempted the option "E.T. - The Extra-Terrestrial!"
(referring to the picture shown in the link above)

I think black and white is suitable for this drawing so I left it that way, but I may color it in at a later stage.
Hope that you like it.


E.T. - The Extra-Terrestrial!





There was a lot of detail required for this one, but I enjoyed creating the drawing.


Here are some Close-Ups of the drawing:


Thought it would be interesting to incorporate the hashtag of the contest somewhere in the drawing


Can you spot the 'ltdwf' hastag in the drawing?




Here is an animated gif of the drawing process


E.T. ANIMATED GIF




Here are some progress pictures


To start off, I began a rough sketch in pencil.



There was a lot more detail required for this option then I had expected and this part took a long time. The drawing will eventually take some shape if you continue to draw.


Drawing more detail on the face and fine tuning


I start drawing the background, you can see that I use lines initially to represent the background.


More fine tuning. The lines in the background are the foundation for the background and you will see how it is completed later.


Now that I am almost done drawing the character, I am going to complete the background.
Initially I just had lines in the background. I you want to smooth the lines, you can then use some tissue to rub the pencil lines so that it creates a smooth effect. There are several ways to shade the background and I might create a tutorial at a later stage if you are interested.


You can see that after some smoothing effect created with a pencil, eraser and some tissue, the background looks smooth and you see fewer lines.


And this is it:

Just thought that I would create a star in the shape of an 'A' to represent my username tag.


Thanks for reading my post and hope that you like it :)



If you like this post, please upvote, resteem, follow and comment.

Thanks for your time and have a great day!



Sort:  

great art apprentice001.... u did n excptional job.... well done and keep it up...
followed n upvoted.. :-)

Thanks @muhammadsharukh for your kind words and support! Will try to post more drawings going forward. Thanks and have a great day!

my pleasure and yeah i will also wait to see ur new stuff like this... :-)
have a great day...

Nic Post and Every time i see your post, i always feel happy and happy. and I Follow u and U Follow Me

Nic Post and Every time i see your post, i always feel happy and happy. and I Follow u and U Follow Me

Thanks @nomanijaz for your support! See that you still quite new to Steemit. Welcome and if you are interested in drawing you should try participate in art contests when you get the time. Followed you back. Have a great day!

follow me plzz and thanku

I love that you left it black and white @apprentice001. I am a big fan of monochrome drawings as I'm sure you see from my own drawings. I love colour as well though! :)
Great job as always mate! :)

Thanks @tonyr! Yes, I thought the monochrome drawing was suitable for this drawing. Glad that you like it. If I get the time, I will try color it in and see what it looks like.

I like your posts. I am also an art lover especially the 3 Dimensional object image design. I will start following you starting today.
Best regards from @sipildanarsitek

Thanks @sipildanarsitek! Glad you like it.

Congratulations @apprentice001! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71