A Typical Low-Carb Meal for Me

in #low-carb7 years ago

One of the things I've learned to help keep me on track with the diet is "automating" the meal-making process. Now, I'm not a huge fan of overly processed food and try to eat whole, natural foods as often as I can.

However, there are just times when expediency is a more important concern and so I've taken to using a few select convenience foods so that meals are quick, hassle-free and thus takes a lot of the pain out of adhering to the diet. In the case of tonight's meal, I used some store-bought low-carb tortillas that are actually very easily adapted to many low-carb meals--and not just Tex-Mex. For tonight, however, I did take the lay-up and made tacos from pre-made taco meat (I always have a pound sitting in my fridge), prepared vegetables (I always keep a bag of shredded leaf or romaine (I don't like iceberg), and some chopped tomatoes. I also have a wide variety of cheeses, many of which I shred myself. In this case, I'm using queso quesadilla.

All I have to do is nuke the meat to warm it, nuke the tortillas for a few seconds to knock the chill off of them and then assemble my meal: meat, cheese, sour cream (only for one), lettuce, tomato and a dash of Tapatillo. Done.

All told, it took me about 5 minutes for a very tasty meal. I think the carbs for all three tacos is 15, which is a lot for one meal, but I saved up today by consuming only a fried egg and some breakfast sausage. The only other thing I'll have tonight is my charcuterie plate (more on that later).

3 low carb tacos.jpg

This is one tasty, filling meal. Now naturally, most of my meals have lower carb counts, but sometimes you have to make yourself feel treated, even if you're not really being treated. Losing weight is as much about the mind game as it is the physical--maybe even more so. That's where the convenience comes in, too; if you lower as many of the barriers as possible to doing the right thing, you're more likely to do it. That's why recycling bins are near soda machines.

Well, that's it for now. Let me know what you think.

Sort:  

My metabolism responds well to low carb dieting but I always end up growing tired of all the cooking and the dirty dishes. I love finding "recipes" that are truly quick and easy, especially those using convenience foods. Which low carb tortillas do you prefer? Some of them are, unfortunately, tasteless. I do love a good taco, though. Thanks for the share.

There are several good brands, each with differing sizes (3, 5 or 6 carbs are the thresholds with which I'm willing to work). There are Mission, La Bandetria, etc. Mission are my favorite because they adapt really well to many cuisines. I'm going to have a whole video dedicated to this topic coming fairly soon.

Awesome. Following and looking forward to it. Thanks :-)

Have you tried making stir fry's or casseroles. I am the only one here on the keto diet and it is hard to cook for one person. So I make casseroles & stir fry's that serve 6 to 8. Put them in individual serving containers and freeze them. A quick microwave, along with a small salad and a whole meal is ready in no time!

Actually, I have some recipes that are so close to the original, your family won't know or care if you're feeding them low carb, like meatloaf. I pre-pack a lot of my meals, too.

Meatloaf Dinner Cropped.jpg

This is a great idea! I'll have to look up keto casserole recipes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41