My Unique Love Story

in #lovestory6 years ago

Valentine’s Day is just around the corner. As an old saying goes – love is in the air. In the mall, I can see couples walking in their sweet gestures. Looking at them I can now gauge how overflowing the love is. That’s the same scene I see when Valentine’s Day is coming, same scene yet different actors. I never care. I never envy them. I used to believe in love until my loved ones left me one by one. For the longest time I decided just to be with me – I’m better off alone. I don’t need to share my popcorn when I watch a movie. I can be at any places and no one would bother to ask for the reason why. I can eat all my favorite foods and never care if I gain weight. I call it – freedom. Hey soul sister, I’m not sour grapping here. I’m just writing out what’s my mind has been shouting.

Through the years I have created my sanctuary which many called it as isolation. But there’s one man who was so persistent. I was never annoyed at him though I really can’t and won’t find time for him. Until one time his persistence get into my nerves. It’s quite annoying but with a feeling of gladness. I don’t have time, I said. Just one hour. One hour is all I need. He said with I gentle voice. I’m busy and I can’t squeeze in my time. I’m loaded – big time! That was me with an annoying voice that at any point in time I would burst out. But I know this guy has mastered the art of persisting people. I will never win and so I finally said – ok 15 minutes. That’s it. Take it or leave it. I’m taking it. He said with a smile. And so, I spent my first odd 15 minutes in silence with him. The 15 minutes became 30 then 1 hour, until I just found myself longing for him. That’s strange. I never felt so whole yet so light. I suddenly like this feeling. During one of our times together I noticed – hey this guy is a charmer and that’s it. My life would never be the same again.

I still live in my parents’ house which is nearly ancestral. I still have the same neighbors. I still pass along the same eucalyptus trees. I still have same bosses and still share lunch with my same colleagues. But as I embrace the magical feeling of romance, I noticed that things have changed. I suppose it’s for the better. One time, on my way to the office I felt the warmth of the sun shining through my skin. Is that your greeting? Well, then good morning. I think it will be a fine day for me. I said out loud while locking my gate. For the first time I after my mom has passed away, I gave a smile to my old neighbor. She liked me. She always says that. But I always hide from her. I don’t hate her, it’s just that I don’t want her to talk about my mom – it’s so depressing. I smiled at her and she smiled back without a word. Oh boy, this is really a good day – I can sense. As I passed through the old eucalyptus trees I smell for the first time the aromatic flavor of eucalyptus. It was so calming, so refreshing. I in haled and exhaled several times as if I’m doing meditation while walking. I could not help but to smile. This is the first time I smiled while my heart is at ease, a true old smile that I lost when almost everybody has gone.

My feelings grow as I he slowly reveals himself. I pledge to read his love letters every day. A love letters that have been compiled and made into a book which many called – the bible. He never holds my hand while I’m walking, but he’s always touching my heart, carrying my loads and saving my soul. I never heard him saying the three magical words – I love you. But his unconditional love, his sacrifices and most of all his death on the cross is enough for me to say – hey you’ve got me there. You just did. I guess you now know who’s my Valentine’s date? I bet He would ask you too. But no worries, just say yes. Anyway, my lover is ubiquitous. Remember?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61430.70
ETH 3318.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49